Christmas Tradition in Hey 2020, let’s try this again?

  • Dec. 22, 2020, 8:18 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I saw a few of you guys wrote down your family christmas tradition.. I thought I might share mine.

My family is NOT rich. My dad own and run an construction business. He have several people working under him and Christmas time, he always give them big bonuses. Leaving us little to none. I was furious growing up wondering why he do that… I know that now, I understand that now as an Adult, as a Mother. I think it is ridiculous that I hate him for it… Phfft....

Anyway, back to the point.. My family is not Rich and Christmas is ALWAYS a treat. My mom loves christmas, the entire month of December she would be baking and make treats. Everyday I come home from school into a kitchen full of desserts. Oh boy I miss that now. The television will have christmas shows on all day. The drummer boy, Frosty, Rudolph the red nosed Reindeer.... All the old classic shows will be on all day. I LOVE every bit of it.

Christmas eve, we would open ONE gift and that gift is ALWAYS the same gift every year as I grow up. It is Pajamas. This is something I didn’t really like… I hate getting PJ’s. My parents would have us let them know 5 things. 1. something I need 2. Something to read 3. Something to wear 4. Something I want and 5. SOMTHING I REALLY WANT but didn’t expect to get. and then some of more gifts… inexpensive gifts. Like socks, make up, journals, socks. etc etc

Then we have a big feast, My mom would have all of her family members coming over. exchange gifts and food and spend rest of the day celebrating jesus’s birthday.

NOW as an adult

I follow that tradition. We do Pj’s on christmas eve, but I added a favorite snack. we will watch classic movie.. Im hoping for A christmas story this year. But I think the kids would want Home Alone, or A christmas vacation.

Then on Christmas, we usually host a gathering, instead of my parents. But with Covid this year’s gathering is canceled. So I figured we will do our own big feast, and I already discussed with my family member on using Zoom so we can watch each other opening gifts from us/them.... ( we will drop gifts off on the eve) It wont be the same, but… we will make the best out of it.

I tried so hard this year to bake and cook and all that jazz but, I wasnt feeling it and with all things that happened around us… it is hard to be cheerful. Sometimes I wonder how my mom does it.. She does it quite well, and I hope one day I could able to push all the bad things aside and be cheerful for a entire month!.... can I do it? maybe that can be an goal for next year… Be cheerful in December.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.