A Christmas like no other in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • Dec. 22, 2020, 8:07 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s been a tragically awful year with the pandemic, economic catastrophe, and criminals in the White House. Who would ever imagine our “democracy” would take this kind of deep dive toward oblivion. Oh, and lest we forget, amidst all the mayhem unleashed in the past four years, there’s the very real prospect of complete civilizational collapse in a matter of decades from the wholly human-caused global warming that will only increase exponentially if our leaders continue to dither with piecemeal solutions.

But instead of despair, I’m going to have some hope that we can at least begin to turn the corner with a fresh start in Washington come January 20. God has shown mercy on us poor wretches who seem to be stricken with evolutionary and enlightenment dysfunction and malaise.

Think about what kind of a world the youngest among us will inherit. What kind of agony will be inflicted on future generations by our stupidity, selfishness and greed? Will we wake up in time, and will the younger generations rise to the challenge of saving us from our collective folly?

I got a special parcel in the mail today. It was a Peanuts pop-up Christmas card with a lighted tree and a Christmas song sung by all the gang. What a delight and a treasure. I had to smile. Thinking of Snoopy, Charlie Brown, Woodstock, and the entire band of lovable characters, made me smile. It’s the simple things that make us happy oftentimes. This was all the Christmas present I needed, and it was from none other than me.

This Christmas promises to be sad and lonely, I’ll be honest, with my mother no longer here. The house will be quiet. No more part/time caregivers, home aides and Hospice nurses and social workers coming and going. My sister and her family will remain in Seattle, unlike last year when they were all here. I will visit my brother at the beach, take a long walk, and recall rich associations of the past. It’s going to be tough, and it’s going to be lonely, but I’ve become a crusty old survivor as I near my 70th year. It truly amazes me that I’ve lasted this long. And I’m grateful. Despite having no family of my own, I’ve lived a full and useful life. I’m still struggling with things. Who isn’t?

So as Christmas nears, I will try my best to focus on the true meaning of the season. And I’ll have my memories of so many wonderful Christmases with all the family at my aunt’s house. She truly loved This time of year, and I’ll never forget all she did for me. She made Christmas a joyous and much anticipated time of year.

Finally, this. I like to dream about old-fashioned Christmases of long ago, and who could capture their beauty and simplicity better than Lee Stroncek one of my favorite artists. Enjoy.

Artist:  Lee Stroncek

Artist:  Lee Stroncek

Artist:  Lee Stroncek

Artist:  Lee Stroncek

Artist:  Lee Stroncek


Last updated December 22, 2020


ConnieK December 23, 2020

Some Christmases are quiet and reflective. Your mother's spirit is close. You can't see her because of the veil of death, but she is near. I wish you joy and peace in 2021.

Oswego ConnieK ⋅ December 24, 2020

Such beautiful and calming words! I agree. Thank you!

Wishing yiu peace and happiness in 2021.

Deleted user December 23, 2020

Lovely pictures. I think I'll daydream awhile, too.

Oswego Deleted user ⋅ December 24, 2020

Thank you! I’ll sure be daydreaming!

Jinn December 29, 2020

Those pictures look like magic Christmases !!

Oswego Jinn ⋅ December 30, 2020

I love old-fashioned paintings like that because they portray a nicer, kinder world that is disappearing now, especially in rural areas.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.