Its beginning to feel a lot like Christmas in My life both public and private!

  • Dec. 19, 2020, 7:25 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well the tree is decorated. The gifts are wrapped. The cookies are made. And as soon as we hang the stockings we are about done. We made chocolate chip, snicker doodles, spritz and peanut butter cookies with Hershey kisses. All went well. Only minor issue was when Steve did the peanut butter batter cookies he took a taste and said it didn’t taste quite right. I tried it and asked him if he put enough peanut butter in it. Well turns out he forgot the peanut butter. Tasted a whole lot better when he added the peanut butter. And not sure who will eat all of them but we are well prepared.

My parents are coming for Christmas Eve. We are doing shrimp cocktail, pigs in a blanket, and a veggies platter. Then for diner we are doing Chinese take out. In Joisey its a very Jewish thing to do Chinese on Christmas Eve. We are not Jewish but itr seems so easy to do for.just the 4 of us.

On Christmas day we are going to my parents house and my brother Kyle , his wife Kelly and baby Elijah will be there. They are driving down from Ithaca. Always a fun day. My mom loves to watch every one open their gifts. But its just not the same. Usually we have about 25 people there. Both my Aunts and their family’s, my moms cousin and her family, and mom Aunt who was my grandmothers sister. But everyone is doing a small celebration at home this year.

We always went to see the tree and the ice skaters in Times Square every year as long as I can remember. Then we would go out to eat at a small restaurant on Restaurant Row. It was always a fun day. Last year Steves parents visited us and joined us. We bought both sets of parents tickets to see Beautiful on Broadway.

And despite an awkward moment or two we had a lovely day. I drove down with Steve to meet his parents the day after Thanksgiving. We stayed with Steves sister and her husband and daughter in Fredericksburg Va. Steves parents live in Sterling Va right near DC. Steves parents knew we where dating. But didn’t know we where living together. His mom had quite the look of shock when my parents said how lovely we had decorated our condo. Oops. I also didn’t realize Steve had not told his parents about our living situation. I then figured out why we stayed with his sister. It was so we could share the same bedroom. His dad was fine with it. His mom seemed to struggle with it a little. We are both in our 30’s so I guess I didn’t see the issue. I think his mom finally reconciled it the next day when.we had them over for dinner. They stayed with my parents while they were here.

Amd we both have off from the 23rd until the 4th of January. We haven’t made any plans as.of yet. I am sure we will go snow boarding and probably eat out a few times. And keep working on our list. Which I need to write about in a FO entry.

So Merry Christmas and a Happy and Healthy New Year everyone!


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.