Best Advent Calendar Ever in 2020

  • Dec. 9, 2020, 8:06 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

For our anniversary in September, I told Rob I wanted the wine advent calendar I had seen at Costco, and he got it for me. So since Dec. 1, I’ve been drinking the equivalent of half a bottle (375 ml) of wine every night. And you know what? It’s been pretty epic! I’ve tried wines I never would have selected for myself, and none of them have been bad - in fact, some of them have been pretty great! I sent my sister a picture of the bottle I had tonight, and she reminded me that we actually went to a vineyard in that part of France when my parents and I visited her in France in 1985. I was eleven, so I don’t remember too much about that trip, other than getting carsick in France, seeing my father (who always ate his steak well done) try not to be horrified when served extremely rare meat, and seeing an exhibit on evolution at the British Museum that horrified my fundamentalist Christian mother…but I believe her that we went to that vineyard, and I think it’s pretty cool :) The wine was good, anyhow.

I’m not drunk, just a little buzzed. And I will be every night between now and Christmas, thank you very much.


Honor December 10, 2020

I also got carsick in France. I was 8 and consumed quite a lot of tiny cheese.

-d December 10, 2020

Lol! I love that description of your parents

aglow December 18, 2020

Have you discovered any new favorites?!

Adira aglow ⋅ December 18, 2020

So many! Did I write them down? No, sadly... though I did try to keep a few bottles, my kids took them out with the recycling and I didn't notice :(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.