The start of a new chapter in life in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • Dec. 5, 2020, 1:23 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The year 1984 was another of those pivotal years in my younger life when I was trying to come to grips with the end of one career and way of life, and the hopeful beginning of a new life in just about every way imaginable. A fresh start. A Phoenix rising from the ashes.

So there I was, back at Square One in life, so to speak. What could I do that would lift my spirits immediately and give me hope and optimism? Hit the road. Travel. See and explore new places, and for awhile not worry about the future, because on the road, I discovered, each day is unique and unlike the one before or the ones ahead. Failures, worries, trials and tribulations were left behind in the dust. Also, I was inspired by William Least Heat Moon’s unforgettable road trip book, “Blue Highways.” He took to to the road after his marriage and teaching career fell apart. How many others have done the same? I felt I was in good company.

I lived in a furnished room for three months while I did some freelance newspaper writing. After getting home, and into each evening, I would spread out books, maps and travel guides on my bed and research and plan and get inspired and more excited and full of anticipation as each day passed.

In mid-April of that year, I left my part-time job, bid farewell to the modest house I was living in and the forgettable lady who rented the room to me, and headed off on the road finding adventures that would exceed every expectation I had. What followed were round-the-country trips in 1984, 1985, 1986, 1987. The last one occurred during the years 1991 and 1993.

Fortunately, and as tired as I was each evening in countless motels, I recorded a journal entry on the day’s travels in a small notebook for the first two trips and then stopped doing this on subsequent years, except for brief and scattered writing.

I keep one of these journals from 36 years ago by my bed to dip into it occasionally.

Here is what I wrote about my first-ever road trip on a three-day drive from Sumter, South Carolina, to my home town of New Orleans. About three weeks later in early May, I embarked on the main portion of the trip which took nine days as I drove from New Orleans to Seattle.

April 12, 1984
Calhoun, GA



I began my trip to New Orleans this morning leaving Sumter about 8:15. Today I spent most of the time in the mountains of northern Georgia. Green is just beginning to show on trees at lower elevations while those at the top of the mountains and on the ridges are still bare.

The highlight of the day was a visit this afternoon to Amicolola Falls State Park. The waterfall here is splendid, with a strenuous hike to the base that is well worth the extra effort. The view of the falls near the base is awe-inspiring, for lack of a better word to describe this magnificent spectacle. I drove to the overlook at the top of the Falls where I stood at the spot where Little Amicolola Creek, a rushing mountain stream, tumbles over a rocky ledge and cascades a total of 729 feet down to the valley floor in the park below. The creek below the falls winds its way through the park, and it’s quite an energetic and frothy waterway, all motion and sound. Beautiful.

The road to the town of Calhoun skirts the southern tip of the Blue Ridge Mountains, and it’s a very pleasant drive through rolling countryside, all the more imposing in its simple eloquence now that Spring is here.


April 14 1984
Tupelo Mississippi

It was a glorious day yesterday with so many sites and so much beauty that I can only attempt to recall some of it here. Saw DeSoto falls where the Little River drops 120 feet into a large rock-walled gorge. Later, in De Soto State Park, I walked along the river and marveled at its clarity and freshness. At the beginning of the trail, Indian Falls spills in a slender cascade 20 feet into the creek below and from there to Little River. This is such a pristine place that I was reminded more than once of the Chattooga River in northwest South Carolina; same green, clear fast flowing mountain water. Also saw several varieties of wildflowers, including one unusual purple variety with yellow markings.

From De Soto Falls I drove to the Ava Maria Grotto, a small, quiet park adjacent to a river near Cullman Alabama, that contains 125 miniature likenesses of famous churches and biblical historic structures. All were painstakingly put together by a Benedictine monk who devoted his life’s work to the project, and who used a variety of commonplace building materials including cement, beads, marbles, seashells and other objects. He had a marvelous eye for symmetry and detail, with ever the artistic creative touch. The whole panorama of the miniatures is quite startlingly realistic.

After this I stopped briefly at a covered bridge over a nice creek that flows through tranquil north Alabama farm country. A tiny feeder creek led from a mill pond with the grist mill converted into a home adjacent to it.

As the afternoon wore on, I stopped at the Sipsey River wilderness area and walked for a short distance along a sand-filled trail beside the Sipsey It was so still and quiet. Great walls of rock loomed up just behind the river banks. The river was shallow and green and clear, so shallow it was only inches deep in places as it drifted lazily down its sandy course. I walked off the trail to photograph a small ribbon of a cascade coming from the rocks higher up and dropping about 15 feet into a small, pebble-filled sink. At the bottom was a little rainbow which added a touch of sublime coloration to the late afternoon wet, brown rock face.

I went through many small towns, and tried to imagine myself living in some of them. Almost everywhere Spring is just starting to show up noticeably. Green lit up the mountainsides adjacent to the valley town of Fort Payne, Alabama, picturesque with its old buildings and sense of timelessness, much as I felt in Dahlonaga, Georgia, where the old downtown historic district has been restored,, retaining the old façades and keeping the old-time flavor that pervades the place.



April 15, 1984
Hattiesburg Mississippi

Yesterday morning dawned cool with the excitement and expectation of the beginning of the third day of my trip. Spring has never seemed so beautiful as it did during an entire day on the Natchez Trace Parkway, which is a National Park Service road and park that diagonally spans the entire state of Mississippi. One enters another world here, totally removed from the restless pace of life outside the park. The road is a unique drive deep into the past.

The Trace was originally the earliest frontier mail route from Nashville to Natchez and the emerging lands of the old Southwest between the years 1800-1820. Today the parkway offers a view of that age, a road unspoiled and clean, an abrupt departure from even vestiges of late 20th century America. Mile after mile of countryside unfolds, ever richer and greener with a gradual dissent toward Jackson in the middle of the state.

All along the way I stopped to read about all roads, Indian and white confrontations and coexistence, old taverns or “stands,” and missionary work in education among the Native Americans, particularly the Chickasaws in Choctaws. (I’m reading this 36 years later, so obviously my views about “missionary” work among the Native Americans has changed).

I walked five short Nature trails, each a specialized experience in natural history. Two of the trails had markers which explained plants and trees and their uses by early inhabitants of the area. One trail, Cole’s Creek, was a fascinating look at the last remnant of a bald cypress Tupelo swamp converting to a hardwood forest. Another trail led around an oxbow lake cypress and tupelo swamp, a place where years ago the Pearl River flowed, only to meander into a new and more direct channel, leaving this area a remnant of the original river. The area along the Trace is permeated with the history and culture of the Native American tribes which lived here and had to deal with Spanish, French, and English adventurers and settlers. Their presence is everywhere.

Exhausted, but quietly exhilarated, is the way I feel at the end of each day. I think back to the huge Water Tupelo and White Oaks, the Indian burial mounds, the Chickasaw village site, the Beaver Dam Trail, the wide bend in the Pearl River, and the old 1840 frontier house at French Camp, a tiny town right off the Trace. I can picture the meadows with a little creeks running through them, most with Indian names. I can feel the breeze blowing across the top of the hill as I walked the trail at Busby State Park and stood for a while before a tiny spring the trickles out of the hillside and wanders ephemerally down the slope over which tower hickories and oaks. All these experiences I was able to savor for only for a short while, but long enough for me to be aware of how special each place is. It was a day full of first-time experiences, and all the fleeting impressions associated with them, and time passing too quickly.

Amicalola Falls

Untitled


Last updated December 05, 2020


ConnieK December 05, 2020

What a lovely trip! I've heard about the Trace but haven't traveled that way yet.

Oswego ConnieK ⋅ December 05, 2020

It’s perhaps the most enchanting drive you can take in the South, or anywhere for that matter. 400 miles long and the whole time you think you’re back in the 19th century, except for the pavement.

mcbee December 05, 2020 (edited December 05, 2020)

Edited

I love Amicalola Falls. It's a day trip for us and never fails to be amazing.

Oswego mcbee ⋅ December 06, 2020

You are so fortunate to be that close to the n. Georgia mountains. I love it up here!

MageB December 06, 2020

I wish you hadn't stopped keeping a journal.

Oswego MageB ⋅ December 06, 2020

I do, too. What motivated me to start writing in earnest was the Internet, first a journal at GeoCities, and a year later at Open Diary. It’s been 21 years of steady writing!

Jinn December 07, 2020

I have not travelled enough :-( but I liked what I did. I enjoyed this entry.
One of the places I loved visiting the most was New Orleans . We spent two weeks there in the edge of the Business District at La Pavilion . Every day we walked all over the city or took the trolly . It was August and wow, so hot :-) But it was a magical trip. Everyone we met ( and we met a lot of people ) was extremely kind . We could not have asked for a better experience .

Oswego Jinn ⋅ December 07, 2020

So glad you had such a memorable time. I miss New Orleans very much. It’s been 26 years since I’ve been back. Since I’m retired, and when it’s safe to travel, I hope to return for a long visit, when I eat my favorite foods, and take a lot of pictures. I certainly know where to go, although much has changed over the years.

Marg December 09, 2020

These are such lovely memories to be able to dip into whenever the mood takes you! :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.