Quiet in 2020

  • Dec. 3, 2020, 8:06 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m alone in my house for the first time in what feels like ages, and it’s so quiet. I love it! I have to get up and be productive eventually, but for right now I’m just sitting on my couch in last year’s Xmas pajamas (very fluffy footies with a snowflake pattern, in case you were wondering) enjoying the silence.

We’re doing a massive shifting project at work - literally moving all the books in the nonfiction section onto a smaller amount of shelves so we can get rid of some and make more space in that area. It will be fabulous when it’s done but right now it feels like so much grunt work, and I’ve been sore for ten days because I’m not used to this much lifting. It’s a two-person project - my coworker (not the lazy one, obviously, but the new one who I really hope doesn’t quit because I quite like her) is moving all the books off their original shelves to another area and then I’m refitting them into the new modified space, one cartful at a time. We’re a bit more than halfway done at this point, although we’re only doing the north side of the nonfiction at this time so at some point next year we’ll have to do the same thing with the south side.

I have to brace myself to go to the post office sometime this week or next. I have two packages to send out, one to my sister in Florida and the other to my niece in Vegas, and I have Xmas cards to mail as well (though I already have stamps so I can do that from home). I don’t want to wait too long as it’s going to be a madhouse by the weekend…

But first I’m going to sit here and enjoy the quiet for a little bit longer!


Honor December 03, 2020

Wheee, shelving. That is in my very near future. I need to get it done because currently looking at what my temp did to my shelves makes me incandescent with rage. Once completed, however, it will be a thing of beauty and a joy forever!

-d December 03, 2020

Ooo girl! Enjoy it!

Calicakes December 04, 2020

You can probably print out the labels at home and drop them at the post office.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.