New from the Govenment Enforced Retreat in Tea at the Cabin in the Woods

  • April 17, 2014, 1:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I got home and laying on the kitchen counter is an envelope with recognizable handwriting, torn open carefully at the narrow end. I picked it, went out to the sun porch and opened the windows to let in some of the limited spring air. Curled up on the futon with a light afgan I opened it to read the following.

"Dear Mom, I've been on my "retreat" for a week now. It's not Club Med, but all things considered it's not so bad. I think I'm the best I could hope for as far as dorms & details. I was transferred from downtown out to the county correctional and put into the trustee building. I was assigned to work in the kitchen warehouse with two guys on my floor & the boss on the job is not bad. i have my own, "room" & everyone in this unit is focused on getting out ASAP so there aren't any fights or too much trouble. No one wants to get moved to another building, this is the best you can get.

I've been keeping a journal, sort of thinking of turning it into a script. We'll see. Also been starting to get some song ideas down. The block on the other side of the building is supposedly haunted...sounds like a folk song to me. I've been doing yoga everyday & pretty much gone vegetarian. Since i stock the food, I read the labels...bologna, "meat product", "Cheese product", etc... I'm eating just a lot of veggies & what ever fruit I can get. They try to load you up on starches (bread, bread and more bread) & all the food you can buy is either sugar, fat or carbs... mostly all three. I've not smoked in a week and I've had no withdrawal... really gonna try to keep that up. In that case, another few days/weeks may be beneficial.

I really miss my wife * being able to talk to you and Dad. But it will be over soon & I promise I will be more available. I can't wait to see you next month! I tear up just thinking about it. I know I've told you this before, but i can assure you that you didn't raise someone who should be be where I am. I know I do not belong here... at least I should have never put myself or turned my life into a position where this is my reality. I'm much more intelligent and evolved than most of these guys. Not saying I'm any better than anyone, just from a different world. I prefer the world you showed me and that I live in. If anything this has taught me that I have no option for screwing up again. This place is a holiday compared to state prison...which would be my fate if I got in trouble again. And I can prevent that because I can not go there... not to mention the real reason, which is to live a happy and productive, intelligent life after this."

It goes on for another two pages about the books he's read and how he feels lucky to have had us for parents. It's a beautiful letter and one I will keep in my treasure box. It's also something I can remind of on occasion.

It is good to know he is making the best of the situation. He is hoping to be out before the end of the month. I hope he's correct about that. It's tough not talking to him and wondering how he's doing. But he's made of strong stuff and will come out of this stronger, I hope.

Just wanted to share. Until Later...


ermentrude April 17, 2014

That truly is a beautiful letter.

After having my two girls I slowly realised that they aren't extensions of me, which is what I think my subconscious believed, and that they are real people with their own thoughts, their own personalities. It was quite a shock at that moment, even though I knew it consciously.

I think he's going to do just fine. X

raeven April 17, 2014

What a lovely letter... I think it's great he realizes that he is different from many of the the people there... in his "raising"... sounds like this time has given him a lot of reflection and gratitude.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.