Thanksgiving in My life both public and private!

  • Nov. 28, 2020, 5:18 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It was a small and very quiet. We had my parents over and Steve and I made Thanksgiving diner. Steve did most of the work. I made the stuffing, sweet potatoes and a warm Brussel sprouts salad. Steve did the Turkey, a leafy salad, the gravy , Crescent rolls an apple pie and made a very nice Apple Cider punch that was really good. It was non alcoholic and everyone enjoyed it. Steve also went to the liquor store and got wine and beer on Wednesday. He did a turkey breast in the Crock pot and it was tender and very moist. He went to the farm to table butcher by us and bought a free range turkey breast. He paid a small fortune for it but it was worth it.

My dad and I ran a virtual 8K in the morning. We have run a Turkey trot together since I have been running which is about 12 or 13 years now. Usually my brother my Aunt Kathy, my dad’s dentist, and I run it. Last year Steve and my sil also ran it. Its a nice way to start Thanksgiving morning. One of my first dates with Steve was 2 years ago when he ran the race with us. We had been dating for about a month when I asked him to my Aunt Kathys for Thanksgiving diner. He met about my entire family that day and the night before. That’s when I knew he was someone I could see in my future.

I always feel you can tell a lot about a guy on how he treats your parents and extended family. He was very good with everyone..I also liked that Bella really took to him right away. I remember on our 2nf date we were on my couch watching a movie with the blanket on us and Bella came over and laid on Steves foot. Thats always a way I can tell she is comfortable with someone. And Steve is very nice to waitresses in restaurants. As someone who worked as a waitress I always feel that if you treat the waitress or waiter well it says a lot about you. And Steve is a keeper.

Last year I had run the Philadelphia Marathon the Sunday before Thanksgiving and was hurting at rhe Turkey trot. Its only an 8K but it took a toll on my poor llegs. The marathon was on a cold and wet day. It actually snowed at about mile 19 or so. I got back to the Marriot after the race where we were all staying Steve and I had checked out but my parents were staying until Monday Steve was at the bar watching football when I got back. I went to my parents roo. To shower and change. I just couldn’t get warm after the race. We got back and Steve went to Paneras and got soup for us for dinner. It helped but I was still cold. I went to bed and slept about 9 hours and felt a lot better on Monday. And ran the 8K on Tbit I will admit I was still a.little sore.

I will admitnI did miss the big Thanksgiving dinner but this made sense for all of us. No one in the family got together with anyone. We all just did immediately family only. My brother stayed in Ithaca which also made sense. Next year I hope we can resume normal life again.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone. Hope everyone stays safe!


Telstar November 29, 2020

You’re right about prospective inlaws.

We met The Kid’s BF on Labor Day & again at Thanksgiving. He appears to be a nice guy & fits in well with our extended family.

Good to know.

Bre M Telstar ⋅ December 02, 2020

I agree. Nice when everyone gets along.

Bre M Telstar ⋅ December 02, 2020

I agree. Nice when everyone gets along.

colojojo November 30, 2020

I did my first Turkey trot last year. I was by myself, while Landry prepared a dish to bring to his parents. I would like to continue a running tradition on Turkey day as well. I’m glad I went for a run thanksgiving morning this year. That’s so awesome that you’re family does it with you! That’s so fun! :)

I know it’s a bummer that big family gatherings didn’t happen, but it’s better that way this year. Just 1 year. 1 year on your lifetime is the smallest blip. Better to be safe and have everyone around next year... and I bet everyone will be much more thankful for a nice big normal thanksgiving :))

Bre M colojojo ⋅ December 02, 2020

Love Turkey trots. Great way to start the day. Usually 6 or 7 of us do it which makes it even more.fun. But it was low key which was fine by all of.us.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.