NoJoMo 26 in 2020

  • Nov. 26, 2020, 8:02 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Write about three (3) people you’re thankful for.

Appropriate, as it’s American Thanksgiving today. I opened a bottle of wine earlier when I started cooking, and I may be asleep before 9pm at this rate!

Also just realized I failed to eat lunch, and Rob’s parents are coming over in an hour for early dinner, so I can’t really eat even though I’m hungry because I will be positively incapacitated by fabulous food soon. But fuck, I’m snacky right now.

Anyhow!

This feels like a repeat of a prompt I did a few days ago, but here we go:

I’m thankful for my husband, and how happy we are after damn near twenty years together. He gets me, he’s compassionate and patient, and I just love him. Plus the sex is still fabulous, which is a definite plus.

I’m thankful for my sister. She’s been through so much, but she hasn’t let it beat her down - she’s still thoughtful and remarkable, and I’m so happy to have her in my life. I don’t take family for granted, since I’ve been dealing with bullshit drama for almost as long as I can remember (from my mom’s family primarily), so I hope she knows how much I appreciate her.

And it feels like cheating, but for the last one I have to say I’m thankful for my kids. I thought I would be a crap mother, and honestly I feel like I’m half-ass at best most of the time - but I must be doing something right, because they are pretty amazing little people. Young adults? Fuck, now I feel old.

Obviously I need more wine. Georgia is still overrun with political ads and I am OVER IT. I just want to watch football and eat carbs, dammit!


-d November 27, 2020

Football and carbs are like ...my favorite things!

Honor November 29, 2020

Happy belated thanksgiving!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.