The perils of racing to the finish line of life in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • Nov. 26, 2020, 2:24 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

…We all suffer from what Samuel Johnson called the ‘hunger of the imagination,’ the insatiable craving to fill the moment with more than what is in it now, as well as the constant desire to seek what’s around the bend. Is it really possible to be content with less?

David Gessner in an article in “The American Scholar” titled “Looking Back From the End of the World: What Thoreau Can Teach Us About Living Life During — and After — the Pandemic”


It’s nearly impossible to be content with having less of what we don’t need. And what we don’t need helps fuel our massive consumer-based economy, and has for the 70 years. Let’s face it, other than the necessities of food and clothing, we could get by on a lot less. Our whole way of life in the late 20th and early 21st centuries is based on spending, on every imaginable thing possible. Before the pandemic, my week would seem strangely empty if I had not made my ritual trips to these places: Dollar Tree (the 21st century version of the 60s dime stores I loved so much); Tuesday Morning for the lucky find of some gift for myself that I would never have thought to get if I hadn’t walked in their door; Big Lots for whatever (I have absolutely no need to go there except it’s practically next door to Dollar Tree, so why not?); and finally to Costco to spend absurd amounts of money on bulk items that take me, a single person, weeks, months or years to use up. Crazy, but I loved going there. But my membership expired this past June. My most memorable impulse purchase there that I couldn’t bring myself to even open was a huge 64-ounce jar of pickled asparagus. Eeeek!

Well, it’s been eight months since I’ve been inside any of those stores. And I’d say I’ve saved a lot of money except for the fact that I probably more than make up the difference ordering things on Amazon and getting my groceries delivered. This has enabled me to be both a virtual and literal hermit, rarely venturing out of the house because there’s no need to. And I like this new normal a lot and can’t imagine going back to the old ways. It will be a new day once it’s safe to go out again.

I would say that since I had more time after retiring, I found myself wanting more things and engaging in more shopping trips to partially, and mistakenly, offset the huge physical snd emotional investment of time involved in caregiving for my mother 24/7. So in a sense, I could justify it. But not anymore. The pandemic has upended just about everything concerned with my retirement plans and goals.

So now and henceforth, is the time to re-orient my priorities. I have more books to read than I could ever finish in several lifetimes. I have lots of collectible items that gave me momentary pleasure like a Hershey bar does, but which now sit on shelves, tables and countertops staring at me. I’m not saying it’s bad to have fun buying things, but in excess it’s really bad for you mentally. What I need to do is pick up two or three good books and make a point to read them in a reasonable period of time instead of in months and years. It was a standing joke among my former co-workers that I was still reading a work-related book after seven years. This also speaks volumes about my attention span. I’m so interested in so many things hat I flit like a hummingbird from one thought, book, Website, online news site, or YouTube clip to another, “constantly craving to fill the moment” with one more amusing, entertaining, inspiring, educational or dimly absurd distraction after another. Let me not even go there thinking about the dozens of movies on my various streaming services’ watchlists. Round and round I go. When it stops nobody knows, certainly not me.

Although the journey is indeed the destination, the events, activities, priorities and preoccupations along the way really should have a strong sense of order and meaningfulness. They should take time, much more then the flickering moments dashing from app to app on my smartphone for hours each day. Yes, I truly love my smartphone, and can’t imagine life without one. It takes my mind off so many of the pressing and troubling concerns of the day, especially now. But at what price? What am I really learning and what is my goal of excitedly seeking what’s next, or what es around the next bend in the river before I’ve assimilated where I’ve just been? This is one of those mysteries of life that with willpower and fortitude I will solve.


Last updated November 26, 2020


Deleted user November 26, 2020

"Dimly absurd distraction" does seem to be the blueprint for pandemic life.

A Pedestrian Wandering November 26, 2020

I think we might all be afraid to take time to ponder the bigger, more real questions for fear they might overwhelm us, so we stay happily distracted on the thousand little things that bring us comfort. I think that just makes us human. Happy Thanksgiving to you, my hermit friend!

Oswego A Pedestrian Wandering ⋅ November 26, 2020

Very wise observation. The Internet has changed my life in a thousand ways for the better, especially in providing me an outlet for my writing and for the endlessly expansive world of people and ideas I’ve come to know about! But there’s no substitute for immersion in a good book, and this is what I want to focus on in my remaining years. It greatly excites me.

mcbee November 27, 2020

I can tell you are Southern when you call it dressing instead of stuffing. I always make both when I (rarely) cook for holidays now.
Very interesting piece about our need for consumerism. Thanks for posting.

Oswego mcbee ⋅ November 27, 2020

Yes, we’ve always calls it dressing. The only time I think of stuffing is for such things as Stove Top Stuffing and other such instant prepared foods. Lol

Kristi1971 Oswego ⋅ November 28, 2020

My Nana was Maine through and through, but she called it dressing. She didn't stuff the turkey. The dressing is made and cooked out of the turkey. If we stuffed the turkey, it's stuffing. Of course, I use the terms interchangeably, but she used to say dressing for outside the turkey. :)

Jinn November 28, 2020

I can relate to this. I have way too much stuff . George Carlin could have written. his stuff routine about me. I am in the process of trying to whittle it down now . I want it gone, it needs to go , but it’s also a little painful to discard things I liked very much . I know I will feel lighter when they are gone and life will seem simpler. I am looking forward to that . My reading has greatly decreased since the virus. I don’t seem able to concentrate as well as before . I am culling my book collection too .

Oswego Jinn ⋅ November 28, 2020

I realize also that my emotional burdens will be lighter once I’ve cleaned out a lot of stuff, which I’ll promptly forget. But I have a lot of knick knacks that I can’t part with and will lug around with me in plastic containers. Same with books, only much harder to part with them. I have a feeling my storage unit will be packed to the rafters in books. sighs

Jinn Oswego ⋅ November 28, 2020

I have sooo many books. It’s going to really hurt to part with them. I never have to look far for a new book to read now :-)

ConnieK November 28, 2020

When Mom went into an ALF, they were concerned that she didn't socialize much and I had to explain that our family never had a problem with being alone and this was natural for her.

Choose what interests you in the moment. That's one of the joys of retirement. If you feel like researching the effects of Woodrow Wilson's presidency and then get distracted, that's okay in my book. It means I'm still open to new ideas and not growing apathetic in my old age.

Newzlady November 29, 2020

I have to really get into the mindset to read. Sometimes I feel like I need to be doing something else while I’m reading and that’s not the way to do it. Most times it’s easiest for me to read before bed if I can wrap up other projects and allow myself the time.

Marg Newzlady ⋅ December 09, 2020

I have this problem too! It always felt like wasting time reading throughout the day but to do it at bedtime was somehow more acceptable :)

Marg December 09, 2020

I think we’re all guilty of these distractions and rabbit holes we go down but I, for one, am very glad we have the opportunity to do so nowadays - so much information at our fingertips! I’ve definitely spent less overall this year - I’m quite looking forward to seeing what my annual expenditure is for 2020 :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.