Reality check - the false nails Edition. in Hot town, summery in the city - 2017

  • Nov. 22, 2020, 5:58 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

WHERE: oh, You know! This is my post Sunday run bath wallow.

WEARING: gold ankle chain, 4Ocean bracelet, wooden bracelet, blue paua shell and silver necklace, a variety of earrings, a belly button bar and nail extensions. I don’t have any training/qualifications in nail extensions so i did YouTube training and, as I already have the shtuff with which to create them (part of a job lot of second hands nail equipment I bought) I decided to give it a go. They’re a bit thick but otherwise I’m dead chuffed with them. Bring on the training!! The only problem is that they’re not as sharp as my real nails and it makes scratching itches almost futile!

FITNESS UPDATE: I donated blood just over a week ago which always leaves me utterly blottoed for a few days and the running needs time to pick up again. Today was supposed to be a 10k (6.2 mile) run but I’m using strava for the first time which thinks I stop when I have walk breaks so i ended up, accidentally, doing 7.6 miles instead… trying to figure out how to get the strava dude to stop hitting the pause button when I slow down a bit…

IN THE NEWS: well the ol’ bozza, BJ (the one that doesn’t have a happy ending) will be making an announcement to MPs tomorrow. We already know what it will contain of course, as always. From the 2nd December (when lockdown v2.0 ends), the tiers will be much stricter. There’s talk of loosening up over Christmas then really tightening restrictions in January but that seems utterly ridiculous. I’m sorry but, this year, Christmas should be low key. I know one lady who has already decided to spend the day alone and won’t see her grandkids. She’s sad but resolute about it. I think those of us who live with other people and will be spending it with them should reach out to those who are alone throughout the day.

READING: I’m re reading a more recent Fannie Flagg book called The All Girl’s Filling Station’s Last Reunion. It’s a great book with lovely characters that, like Fried Green Tomatoes, spans two different timelines. One is “modern day” but no specifics about when that modern day is, everyone uses landlines, although now that I think about it, it must be early 2000s because of the age of one character. And the old timeline is seen through the eyes of a group of young women who learned to fly before the war so become WASPs (women’s Air Force service pilots). I’m charging through it, as one does with good books.

I’m still plodding through a rather stilted travel book written in the early 1970s which I got from an old phone box book exchange in Streatley a few weeks ago. I like reading about England during my early childhood but he’s a bit snotty about a lot of places (including my home town through which he travelled in the beginning). I’m also reading a lot of Christmas catalogues 😉

ACTIVITIES TODAY: well, I ran and I’m bathing. I need to pop to the shop but other than that, Lockdown doesn’t allow much. I may do a little sewing although I’m trying to restrict the mask business to weekdays only.

THINKING ABOUT: not much. Thinking isn’t something I want to do at the moment as so much is unknown. My uncle is in hospital with COVID-19 but he is okay. Very weak but chatting away, eating and hasn’t needed a ventilator, just an oxygen mask. We were all very worried for a time. Hopefully he will carry on improving.

PLANNING: see above. I have two nail appointments booked and several other people who want to make appointments but are waiting to see what will happen beyond 2nd December. I need to earn money but I know the Christmas mask business has a finite outcome to it. Do I start sewing other things? Do I really ramp up the nail advertising? I really don’t know. Of course, doing both for a while is perfectly doable. Hey Ho.

Also planning my 50th birthday which is in 12 days. Now, I want to have breakfast out but again, the scheming buffoon is in control of that so we shall see. I just want to glow in my birthday-ness as I always do. But it’s harder for people to accidentally see my birthday badges if we’re still in lockdown 🤣🤣


thesunnyabyss November 22, 2020

man I wished you lived close enough to do my nails, very cool you are upgrading your skills during all this,

we'll probably be going into a new lockdown here next week,

Wayne was using Strava when he was still running, work and snow got in the way, I'll ask him when he's up,

enjoy your day!!!

ermentrude thesunnyabyss ⋅ November 22, 2020 (edited November 22, 2020)

Edited

Thanks. No need to disturb him. My brother and I had a WhatsApp conflab and apparently it’s my arm movement stopping that causes the pause so I’ll have to either wobble my arm during walk breaks or switch off the auto pause and do it manually when I actually want it to pause. That’s usually when I stop to admire a view or take a photo xx

thesunnyabyss ermentrude ⋅ November 22, 2020

ah, makes sense, he's up now, lol, surprisingly, have a good day!

Jinn November 22, 2020 (edited November 22, 2020)

Edited

I am so backward. I do not even know what a nail wrap is :-( . I just keep mine trimmed ultra short . Sometimes I put clear polish on them :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.