Can we have a conversation liberal to conservative? in Musings

  • Nov. 14, 2020, 8:56 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m so conflicted on where I stand with coming together as a nation. I didn’t become interested and aware of politics until the last four years. It wasn’t the media that made me dislike Trump. It was Trump who made me dislike Trump. His speeches, his twitter feed, the way he treated anyone who disagreed with him. It reminded me too much of my narcissist father and my asshole exboyfriend.

I wrote about this on my Instagram and got absolutely attacked by Trump supporters. I had people tell me I was lying about my abuse. That I probably deserved it. That I was uneducated. And of course plenty of people who deflected to talk badly about Biden when the post wasn’t even about him.

I know not all Trump supporters are racist bigots. In the same way not all Democrats are unreasonable SJWs. But it seems like we have all been talking past each other the past four years. I have tried having conversations with Conservative people in my life but I quickly becomes obvious that as much as they cry “fake news” they have believed plenty of false things themselves.

Like how NO ONE is advocating for abortions to happen late term or for killing a child who is born alive.

Or that addressing the climate crisis will mean things need to change but not all at once and new jobs will replace the ones lost.

That respecting people’s gender identities doesn’t just mean we are “castrating” children. Those surgeries can’t happen until someone is of age and everyone I know who is trans had to undergo lots of counseling to even get that far.

Defunding the police doesn’t mean we won’t have anyone to help in times we need them. It just means allocating some of those funds for education and other things that might help prevent crime. Plus I personally like Biden’s plan of putting in funding to have more counselors and other people who are trained to deescalate situations.

That Democrats don’t want to take away religious liberties. Many of them are religious themselves. Those of us who aren’t religious though would just like to actually see a separation of church and state.

So for the sake of conversation: if you’re a trump supporter or just a conservative in general what do you wish us liberals understood about your position? How can we actually start hearing each other? I’m really curious. Just please be respectful.


Deleted user November 14, 2020

I am not a Trump supporter, but I am married to one and live in a place where the overwhelming majority voted for him. Most of them don’t have twitter accounts and are willing to look past his nastiness. What they like about him: Low gas prices due to drilling our own oil, etc. He brought jobs in the oil industry that pays well. He lowered their taxes. The relationship with Israel. Did not start any new wars. Made conditions for veterans better with the VA. And they believe what he says about the Democrats. I personally voted blue and want him out of there, but these are some things I am hearing. Hope it helps.

faded memories Deleted user ⋅ November 14, 2020

Thank you so much for your perspective. I also live in a red state and do agree about all the oil stuff for sure. The VA part is actually a good thing he did. I talked to my grandma and of course she doesn’t have twitter and just watches Fox News. So she doesn’t get any of the nastiness.

Telstar November 15, 2020

Good entry.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.