Double-Yolk Day in Magical Realism

  • April 15, 2014, 12:30 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yesterday our usual class was cancelled due to Passover so my colleague Caroline and I left work a little early and headed to a different branch of our gym for a new boot camp class. It's in a classic Soho cast iron building, really neat space. We got a spot right by the (huge, gorgeous) windows and worked it out - great class.

I showered/blowdried at the gym, then went to Citarella's for groceries. Before going there, I always thought this place was super-expensive, and their prepared stuff is pricey, but their basic stuff like meat/veg is actually a bit cheaper for the nice stuff than other places near me. Score! I feel like they treat their employees really well too, which is always a bonus.

Walked home, went upstairs and A was entering our taxes. So sweet. I poured him a glass of wine and put out a dish of olives (his fave) to snack on while he worked. I'd bought stuff for dinner and lunches the next day, so I prepped lunch first (baked chicken breast, roasted butternut squash and brussels sprouts) and put it in the oven, then started on dinner. I got romaine lettuce and what I thought was ground turkey for lettuce wraps but it turned out to be chicken. Oh well, it was still good! We just got this new white ceramic non-stick pan and so far it's pretty awesome. I sauteed the ground chicken with a little soy sauce, cleaned the romaine, and we were good to go. Quick yummy healthy dinner.

I washed dishes and puttered around the house while A finished the taxes, then I brought out a plate of macaroons for dessert! I bought these pre-made at the store so they were much larger than usual. We each had half of a chocolate macaroon, regular almond macaroon, and then a regular one half dipped in dark chocolate! The plain ones were the best though. I bought stuff over the weekend to make our own - we will have to try this week. (I only seem to cook things with less than five ingredients, so macaroons work well.)

I tried on a sports bra and some Uniqlo dresses that came in the mail...the bra worked but the dresses did not. I was excited for the Ines de la Fressange collaboration but none of the pieces worked for me. Blah. I put them in a bag to hopefully return today after the gym.

Pulled the lunch food out of the oven, cut up the chicken, then shredded some romaine/carrots/chicken breast with cayenne pepper for a salad for A. Compiled two tupperwares of my baked chicken/roasted brussels sprout/butternut squash lunch mix, put it all in the fridge, and washed the last dishes. After that I washed my hands, lotioned my arms and legs with self tanner, brushed/flossed my teeth and clarisonic-ed my face. Read a bit, then went to sleep.

Woke up this morning feeling a bit sore, probably need to up my protein. Sipped on some leftover green tea I'd put in the fridge, hoping it would give me some energy. Packed my gym clothes, organized my bag, then put a sack of food together. Was hungry so made myself an egg. I usually eat two eggs, over easy with ground black pepper, but I bought jumbo eggs this time which were larger than I'd thought, so I figured I'd start with one. I looked at the egg and thought it looked a bit darker than the others. Cracked it open and there were two yolks inside! It creeped me out a little but maybe it's a good omen. Either way I was glad I didn't try and eat my usual two eggs after all as I try to keep my yolks to two a day. Sliced a red gala apple with some ground cinnamon and ate it with the double-yolk freak egg.

Washed the dishes, put on clothes (green shift dress, black Stella McCartney/Adidas flats that I really need to replace but haven't found any good updates yet) and headed out the door. It was raining, not too hard, but enough for an umbrella. Walked to the office, worked, had lunch and it's still raining...


pandora April 15, 2014

Do you mean macarons? I'm picturing macarons. Macaroons are usually coconut thingies, right? Both are delicious!

It's now SNOWING here. And was really warm yesterday (like high 70's). It's surprising that I don't know more people with mood disorders, considering what we deal with weather-wise. In APRIL.

Satine pandora ⋅ April 15, 2014

Hope, macarons are the french cookie things (like Pierre Herme/Laduree) and macaroons are the coconut things (just shredded coconut, egg white, vanilla extract, sugar/salt.) Both are yummy, but I would never attempt a macaron. I bet you could make them though :)

And OMG the snow...hang in there. xx

Satine pandora ⋅ April 15, 2014

Okay, you just inspired me to look this up and how interesting is this? (from Wikipedia)

The English word macaroon and French macaron come from the Italian maccarone or maccherone. This word is itself derived from ammaccare, meaning to bruise used here in reference to the almond paste which is the principal ingredient. About the origin, culinary historians claim that macaroons can be traced to an Italian monastery of the 9th century. The monks came to France in 1533, joined by the pastry chefs of Catherine de Medici, wife of King Henri II. Later, two Benedictine nuns, Sister Marguerite and Sister Marie-Elisabeth, came to Nancy seeking asylum during the French Revolution. The two women paid for their housing by baking and selling macaroon cookies, and thus became known as the "Macaroon Sisters".

Recipes for macaroons (also spelled "mackaroon," "maccaroon" and "mackaroom") appear in recipe books at least as early as 1725 (Robert Smith's Court Cookery, or the Complete English Cook)

Italian Jews later adopted the cookie because it has no flour or leavening (macaroons are leavened by egg whites) and can be enjoyed during the eight-day observation of Passover. It was introduced to other European Jews and became popular as a year-round sweet. Over time, coconut was added to the ground almonds and, in certain recipes, replaced them. Potato starch is also sometimes included in the recipe, to give the macaroons more body.

pandora Satine ⋅ April 15, 2014

Interesting--so they come from the same root word! I like the macaroons better, I wonder if I can find a vegan recipe... let us know how they turn out!

nowthat'salady April 15, 2014

I say lucky too. Over easy is so delish.

nightborn April 15, 2014

We have one of those ceramic pans too :) they're so great.

Twin yolks are totally good luck. :)

Satine nightborn ⋅ April 16, 2014

How long have you had it...has it held up well/do you do anything special for it? Our said to always use with a bit of oil and to cool the pan down before washing, and only with non scrub sponge, but anything other than that I should do to maintain?

nightborn Satine ⋅ April 16, 2014

We got it for Christmas from J's mom. So far it's been perfect - no sign of wear, and we use it constantly for all sorts of purposes (stirfry, quesadillas, eggs etc).

Jigger April 15, 2014

When I was a kid, my mom had a hen who only laid double-yolkers. Even though it was an everyday thing, it still always felt lucky.

cariad April 15, 2014

Twin yolks=buy a lottery ticket, that's lucky for sure! :)

sarahbaby. April 15, 2014

Somehow that super cool freak egg seems perfect for you!!

Homebird April 15, 2014

Can A come to Ireland and do our tax returns? We provide excellent B&B, and I will even provide Macarons! They are so painful, and for the past three years we have had to do US and Ireland ones, so double the pain x

Satine Homebird ⋅ April 15, 2014

hahaha sorry lady, mine are pretty simple but I can see how yours would be maddening! (Wish your company gave you services for this as part of the package...bah.)

Homebird April 15, 2014

And PS, yes, a double yoke is so lucky! Go do a lottery ticket! x

Red April 15, 2014

What recipe do you use for lettuce wraps? We have been using a Biggest Loser recipe that is pretty good, but I'm always up for new stuff.

Satine Red ⋅ April 15, 2014

hahaha I don't use a recipe but basically I just spray the sautee pan, crumble the whole packet of ground turkey/chicken into the pan, and then once one side is browned, sprinkle some soy sauce/ground pepper on, then flip...once both sides are browned I just separate into smaller bits with the spatula. From there I scoop the meat into a bowl, put a spoon in, and serve with big lettuce leafs (usually romaine or boston bibb) and that's the "recipe." :) If you have better versions I am all ears - Mr. Chow does a yummy one too but not sure what's in it and it's a lot heavier...

LeftisRight April 15, 2014

You sound like a great cook!!

LeftisRight April 15, 2014

I took a photo of the twin egg I cracked once to bake. :)

Deleted user April 16, 2014

self tanner! which do you use? i loved the cheap loreal gelee one but they stopped making it in dark/deep. might be time to go to sephora and get a grown up version.

Satine Deleted user ⋅ April 16, 2014

I am super pale so like the gradual ones to take a bit of my glare off :) They just changed the formula to have a nice frosting type smell instead of the usual fake tanner smell...I have a CVS brand one which I can't find but it's based on the Jergens one below which I've also used and they are the same...may not be dramatic enough for you but worth a try even just as a moisturizer!

http://reviews.cvs.com/3006-en_us/910252/jergens-jergens-natural-glow-3-days-to-glow-moisturizer-fair-to-medium-skin-tones-reviews/reviews.htm

Complicated Disaster April 16, 2014

Double yolks are exciting - but eggs? Ewwwww! lol xx

Satine Complicated Disaster ⋅ April 16, 2014

A hates eggs too - I have learned to love them because it's tough to get enough protein otherwise. Or is there a double meaning somewhere there that I am missing?

Complicated Disaster Satine ⋅ April 16, 2014

Nope! Just hate eggs! lol xx

AlmostGenuine April 17, 2014

I made macarons twice before (chocolate) and they were a lot less finicky than I expected, given the internet's opinions on them. I was going to make pistachio ones for St. Patrick's day, but never got around to it. I do want to try again, now that you mention it... maybe next week!

Let us know how it turns out!

T did our taxes too, but his income is always complicating things for us, so I think it is only fair. I had one job in one state, nothing complicated! He had income from 2 states, contracting income, and a bunch of complications.

Satine AlmostGenuine ⋅ April 17, 2014

Macaroons or macarons?

AlmostGenuine Satine ⋅ April 17, 2014

Macarons (the little french cookies like at Perez Hermes). Based on her description of flavors, I thought that is what she meant as well. But looking at your research above, i think they are more similar than I envisioned? Anyway, mine had no coconut, so that makes them macarons.

Satine AlmostGenuine ⋅ April 17, 2014

Ahh. Macaroons are just basically piles of shredded coconut bound together w/some egg white and maybe flavoring. Macarons are so fancy! I would never try to bake, but am sure you and [pandora] could make a good fist of it.

It's so funny - I never realized how similar the names are/how many people have never heard of Macaroons, it may be that they are mostly an East Coast/Jewish thing since they're big at Passover when you can't eat anything that expands/rises like bread/grains. :)

Leslie Bruce April 17, 2014

Yum, all that food sounds so delicious. Making me hungry!

Deleted user April 18, 2014

Is it just me or are you cooking more these days than you used to? :)

Uniqlo is coming to Canada, I'm so excited! I fell in love with that store while living in Japan - it was the only store I could find that sold clothes that suited (fit) me.

Ooo, double-yolkers! Good luck, maybe. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.