Remembrance Day in The View from the Terrace

  • Nov. 9, 2020, 1:10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I was watching the Remembrance Day service at the Cenotaph yesterday morning and it seemed so strange with everyone socially distancing and, of course, the parade of the veterans cancelled. In the evening Louise and I watched They Shall not Grow Old, such a moving film. When they showed the parades of young men marching off to the war I remembered my mother telling me that she watched them as a child of 7 marching past her house and how everyone believed they would be home for Christmas.

We spent the afternoon in the garden. Something, I suspect a mouse, or even a rat has been burrowing into our plant pots and digging up some of the bulbs. We planted a few more bulbs that we had left over and put a covering of gravel. Hopefully that will deter the little bastard.

I have just been round to the shops and it was good to see everything open again. Two were putting up Christmas decorations.

Not much more to report. We are still waiting on Chris to get a letter from his work to complete the guarantor form for the flat.


Marg November 10, 2020

I must watch that film again - I started watching it a while back but got interrupted and never finished. I remember how well done it was and how amazing the difference adding colour made!

skyelord November 11, 2020

its been a few years sice I left my wars behind yet still I have tears foe frieds I lost

Sabrina-Belle skyelord ⋅ November 12, 2020

Did you serve then? It must have been so hard to lose friends.

Jinn November 11, 2020

I have never seen that film. I watched the the Queen last year quoting the lyrics of a song that I think was associated with that movie. She certainly honors the day .
Everything here is closed again ( since Sunday) except essential businesses. Its Depressing. The virus rages on.

Sabrina-Belle Jinn ⋅ November 12, 2020

The film was quite heavy going but we'll worth watching.

I think the song the queen quoted was We'll Meet Again.

Wales is open again but England is now locked down!

Jinn Sabrina-Belle ⋅ November 13, 2020

Ugh! You are right ; It was “ We’ll meet again “ . So touching .

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.