A visit to a friend in A mish mash of entries

  • April 15, 2014, 1:22 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Lorraine and I were “doing lunch” at an outdoor table of a restaurant. We both had onion soup in bread. I don’t know if you’ve come across this before, but it’s a hollowed out large roll, almost a small loaf in size, filled with thick yummy onion soup. Somehow, the bread doesn’t go at all soggy and it keeps its shape completely. You can scrape out a little bit with the soup, but not really much. In a weird and wasteful way, the restaurant also served extra bread with the soup.

A little bird joined us at the table, perching on the chair opposite us, and another couple approached, but not quite so close.

Because I’m mean and cruel, I decided not to throw any bread to the bird, but instead I held some out at arm’s length, tunelessly singing, “if you want it, here it is, come and get it.” It did. That brave little bird flew up to me, hovered by the bread and took it out of my fingers. Of course, once it got hold of the bread, it flew straight off, immediately to be mugged by one of the not-so-brave birds and have its bread stolen. Not to be deprived, it returned and yet again took bread out of my fingers. And YET AGAIN, it was instantly bullied by another bird and the bread pinched again. Third time lucky… it took the bread from me again and stayed close to eat it. The other cowardly bullies left it alone this time.

Lorraine failed dismally by not getting a photo of brave-bird in action, but it was a lovely few moments.


Milkwood April 15, 2014

Haha! That sounds very cool!

Icklewriter April 15, 2014

My camera would have been out, for sure.

Newzlady April 21, 2014

We have restaurant chains that serve bread bowls. Kinda funny, yes.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.