NoJoMo 6 in 2020

  • Nov. 6, 2020, 7:46 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

What are five core beliefs that guide your life?

This is an interesting one, because I rarely attempt to quantify my morality. I suppose if I had to pick five things, it would be these:

1 - Be straightforward. Say what you mean, and mean what you say.
2 - Be gentle with yourself and others. No one is perfect, and I really believe most people have generally good intentions.
3 - Don’t put up with repeated bad behavior from others. #2 nonwithstanding, if people continually fuck you (or people important to you) over in the same way, let them know it’s not okay and you’re not going to tolerate it.
4 - Watch how people treat those who have less power than they do. How a person treats children, animals, or anyone who could be perceived as disadvantaged/not having anything to offer tells you a lot about who they are as a person.
5 - Relax and try not to take everything too seriously. I’m bad at this one, I get really tightly wound up about minor details and frustrated if everything isn’t going the way I’d expected. I’m trying to relax a little and just enjoy the ride.

That’s it for today. I’m still super excited to see that my state might flip blue - I honestly never expected that, and it’s just delightful!


-d November 06, 2020

I love these. I honestly would write the exact same things! And...yay GA! I woke up with hope for the first time in like.... 4 years.

Adira -d ⋅ November 06, 2020

I'm so excited but also weirdly afraid to full-on hope. I keep remembering 2016...

Honor November 06, 2020

I think it's awesome. I keep telling people I have two friends in Atlanta, and that they are really happy about the outcome. It's one thing if an historically blue state stays blue, but it's another when one that has been deeply republican sees their leaders behaving certain ways and decides that it's not ok. That's pretty cool. It's hopeful.

Qualifying your morality has got to be super hard, but I love how you've done it. I especially try to pay attention to #4.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.