Amazon in Another Open Diary refugee

  • April 15, 2014, 3:21 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Woke up this morning with a headache bad enough that John had to get me the ice pack and tylenol... then I went back to sleep for a couple of hours and felt kind of better. This is the fifth day in a row I've had it - not all the time, it comes and goes, mostly in the afternoon/evening... but this is the first time I woke up with it. Ick. I said I had headaches about 10 days a month. I think I need to up that to 15... at least they're not classic migraines. Once I get a headache it hangs on for three or four days but I rarely have to hide with a pillow over my head... a)I need new glasses (bifocals) and b)I need sunglasses!

I'm not inclined to want to go anywhere today anyway, headache or no... I walked to church yesterday and I decided to wear my gold keds. Problem is, they shrank when I washed them, and they're tight now. By the time I got to church the stupid shoes had chewed up both of my heels! Somebody saw me shuffling and asked why I'd worn them if my heels were a mess? Ummm, they weren't that way when I left the house! Ow! I sent John a text message from the church and asked him to bring bandaids and my sneakers when he picked me up.

Went online yesterday and finally hit the 'buy' button on Amazon and spent the last hundred dollars of our christmas money on stuff for the apartment. I've spent it 'virtually' about twenty-five times over but I've never decided what we need most until now. I ordered two little tension curtain rods for the bathroom windows (I'll put up the butterfly voiles I used to have in my craftroom rather than buying anything new), some little bottles of acrylic paint to redo the poor sad time-worn pineapple on the mailbox finial (I wouldn't have chosen to have it and I'd much rather it wasn't there, but since it is, at least I can give it a fresh coat of paint and make it look like somebody cares...), I got a small and a medium recycling bin for the papers (one for the kitchen and one for the living room depending on which fits into the cabinet better), and the big purchase - a $75 metal storage rack for the craftroom so we can get John's junk organised and off the floor. The contents of two big dressers are sitting in the corner of the craftroom in four big tubs and one little one, and you can't find ANYTHING! I would have really liked to order two or three of the shelves and use them for ALL the storage on that wall, but we don't have any money to spare... one will do for starters. I've got storage for my stuff, it's just old and beat up... Now we'll just have to get some smaller boxes to sort his stuff into...


Everything Good Rebecca April 15, 2014

Getting started is sometimes the hardest part, and the momentum that comes after is great! I'm glad you had a ride home from church and so sad your feet hurt so bad getting there. As for headaches, so glad you've found some home treatments (ice pack) that help a bit. I've found that peppermint oil on my temples or rubbed into the palms of my hands and then inhaled surprisingly helps the headaches I wake up with sometimes. I'm thinking mine must be sinus-related or the deep breaths of air after the peppermint wouldn't be so helpful. Seems good that you're documenting your symptoms to make more sense of when they come and what helps.

Loki April 16, 2014

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.