Shops in The View from the Terrace

  • Nov. 3, 2020, 4:01 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The pandemic is starting to take its toll on shops. The little decorators across the road has a closing down sale sign in the window. This is the man who stayed open all through lockdown. It looks as though he still didn’t get enough trade. The Oxfam shop next door but one to us didn’t reopen after lockdown and is now up for sale. I will miss it. I always found some interesting books in there.

We went to Tesco’s yesterday for bread and it’s crazy what you can and cannot buy. You can buy cards and books but the crockery and kitchen utensil section was closed. It’s a good thing David isn’t here, he was always smashing the plates and cups when they had a row! I needed a tin opener as the one we have doesn’t work any more. Of course, it was in the closed off kitchen section. I went to one of the assistants and asked if it was not possible to buy one. She said I couldn’t go down that aisle but she would fetch one for me, she went off and came back with a selection.

England is going into a full lockdown on Thursday for four weeks, while here in Wales ours ends on Tuesday week. It’s quite confusing to work out if Hubby can come or not. I guess the answer to that is no.

I spoke to Louise’s landlord on Saturday and he is concerned that she doesn’t have enough money to pay the rent. He is also not happy with me as guarantor because I am not working and don’t have enough savings to cover a year’s rent. The fact that Louise gets Housing Benefit and I do have enough to cover the difference doesn’t seem to count. I asked Chris if he would be guarantor and he agreed. They still have to check him out but I don’t see how there would be a problem with him, he has a well paid job and owns his own house so hopefully it will be sorted soon.

Meanwhile here is a photo of some clothes on display in the supermarket that we are not allowed to buy.
alt text


Last updated November 08, 2020


JustSurviveSomehow November 03, 2020

Clothes are essential. The fact that they would have physically blocked off with plastic is so hard for me to wrap my mind around!

Marg November 04, 2020

It must be so sad to see small businesses collapse and not be able to keep going - my brother’s lighting business in St. Albans is barely ticking over as well. That’s so frustrating about Louise’s landlord - I would have thought your pension coming in plus savings would be more reliable than a job which could be so easily lost - especially in these shaky times!!

Jinn November 05, 2020

I am dumbfounded that you can not buy clothes or kitchen stuff . Where is the sense in that ?
That landlord is pretty hard to please .
Lucky you all have Chris.
We have had a ton of businesses fail so far because of the virus and unemployment is skyrocketing . It makes you wonder if this is ever going to end . :-(

Oswego November 12, 2020

I don’t see how many small businesses are hanging on. It makes me think economies all over the world are going to be much changed after this pandemic.

Why are those clothes off limits for purchase?

Sabrina-Belle Oswego ⋅ November 13, 2020

Because all non essential shops had to close for lockdown it was decided it would be unfair to allow supermarkets to sell inessentials.

I think you are right, the pandemic is going to change a lot of things for the future.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.