Election Woes in Musings

  • Oct. 31, 2020, 12:18 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I should be asleep right now but I have been scrolling through political Instagram and Twitter comments because for some reason I thought that was a good idea.

I have never felt the type of division I feel right now. It’s palpable being a (mostly) blue voter in an extremely red county in an extremely red state. Trump signs were stolen in my neighborhood and immediately replaced by more. The 3 Biden signs in my neighborhood got stolen recently. I can’t take a damn walk around my neighborhood without seeing thin blue line flags and trump signs a-plenty.

I’m worried about what’s going to happen no matter who wins. I’m voting Biden. I want him to win but I don’t expect him to be our savior. I sometimes worry our democracy in this country is fucked up beyond repair. Or maybe that it never existed. I never know anymore if I’m being lied to or not. It’s not a very safe feeling.

My family are in the “we don’t like his personality but we have to vote for him because abortion. Because the economy. Because Biden is going to take away the oil industry” Aside from my mom who refuses to vote for Trump but won’t vote for Biden either.

It’s depressing. To feel like you just want to make them understand how dire this situation is. How panicked you feel for the future. With daughters who might not have rights to their bodies. Who might not be able to marry who they love if that person isn’t a cishet man.

There’s nothing I can do. But vote. And hope. And pray to a god I don’t believe in anymore.


Last updated October 31, 2020


Lord VileCore October 31, 2020

We're watching this election with a panic and fear we've never really felt about a foreign election before; the world can't take four more years of that psychopath. Best wishes from England.

faded memories Lord VileCore ⋅ October 31, 2020

You know I have been hearing this from a lot of international people and I find it so interesting. Thanks for thinking of us.

Deleted user November 02, 2020

I keep feeling like today may be the day of democracy in America. I hope Biden wins. But it’s going to be a shit show either way.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.