Autumn in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • Oct. 29, 2020, 3:02 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Autumn looked at
the shadow of a
still-summer oak tree
and said,
“It’s time.”


A Pedestrian Wandering October 29, 2020

This is lovely. For me, there is always that one moment when I am cognizant the angle of the light has changed and I say the word "Fall."

ODSago A Pedestrian Wandering ⋅ October 29, 2020

I agree. In FL where people feel we don't have Autumn, we do. And it's seen first in the light.

Oswego ODSago ⋅ October 29, 2020

Late afternoon light and it’s golden clarity are what make it fall for me. Our trees turn brown, but over the years I have found where to see some bright colors: reds, oranges and yellows, and this knowing where to find them makes the color all the more special.

Oswego A Pedestrian Wandering ⋅ October 29, 2020

There’s also a distinct clarity in the afternoon sunlight, especially.

ODSago October 29, 2020

Lovely, Oswego

Oswego ODSago ⋅ October 29, 2020

Thank you! Unfortunately poetry is so on and off wih me, but I love to dash out haikus. They are a spontaneous and meaningful way of expressing some deep and mysterious truths. 🧐

ODSago Oswego ⋅ October 30, 2020

For sure. I see quite a bit of it, some really good, too, on Allpoetry.com. And the guy who oversees the site writes almost all haiku.

MageB October 29, 2020

Yes, then it pause a while.

Marg October 31, 2020

Beautiful!

Oswego Marg ⋅ October 31, 2020

Thank you!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.