Survived! in A new beginning

  • April 13, 2014, 5:59 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

 photo IMG_0148.jpg

Glad I got that practice with the cast because this isn't much better.

We ended up having an add on surgery for Friday. This guy had a trigger release surgery on his finger 9 days before and took out his own sutures and thought there was pus coming up so he did what any sane person would do and stuck a pin up in his incision. He was in the room with my surgeon talking about it and was laughing and my surgeon goes "You need to stop laughing right now. This is not funny! You could lose your finger!" "I do not want you handling livestock at all ok!" So...long story short, she ended up setting him up for an irrigation and debridement of his finger same day as me.

Friday was my surgery. So glad it's over. I had to fast from midnight until my surgery at 1:30 in the afternoon so that kind of sucked. It wasn't the eating that was difficult it was not being able to drink. Luckily I could drink clear liquids up until 9 am. I joked with the pre op MA when I first got in and said "Vodka counts as a clear liquid right??' Her and the other scrub techs loved that. I always feel like I am severely dehydrated and have to constantly be drinking water and talking on the phone all day and running around between the clinic and surgery center doesn't help. Luckily my morning went by relatively quickly and didn't have to solve any huge problems or interact with many crazies. It did suck having someone come up to me every two seconds though asking me if I was nervous or start sharing their surgery horror stories with me. I work with the best I tell you.

I walked over to the surgery center at 12:45 to get admitted. It was definitely weird being on the patient side of things over there. I went into my bay and closed the curtain to change and set my phone down on the bed while I started to undress and just happened to look down at my phone and it was recording me undressing. Wth! Only my phone would automatically start filming me strip all on its own. Was thinking it probably uploaded it to my facebook knowing my luck. The RN I work with came over and starts asking me questions to admit me and couldn't get my vein to pop up the way she wanted it to so she had the anesthesiologist do it. He was an older guy that had part of his hairy chest exposed for some reason. My friend came over just as he was hitting on my veins and he goes "Sorry for banging you!" I was like...uh no problem! Later on my friend was like "How do they not require him to wear a hair net for his chest in the OR?" haha. My surgeon came over to mark my wrist and talk to me for a bit. Asked me if I ever had vicodin and if I ever had any issues with it. I almost felt ashamed saying I had taken vicodin before as much as we make fun of that stuff together. haha.

They took me back to the OR and that's when I started shaking from the nervousness. Just laying there on the table staring at the bright lights and seeing the surgeon I work with every day preparing was just so weird. Hairy anesthesiologist starts putting the anesthesia in my IV and goes "This may burn a little" As he said that I saw my surgeon look away. Should have known then what was about to happen. I'm not exaggerating when I say my entire arm felt like it was set on fire. I tried to breathe through it but it wasn't happening so I started kicking my feet a bit and that's the last thing I remember. I woke up and heard the nurse say there was blood on my face. They cut my lip open trying to get the tube out of my throat apparently so I ended up with a fat lip. I heard my surgeon say I did great and they wheeled me to recovery. I just felt really groggy and everything was blurry but I was pretty coherent. Didn't say anything embarrassing thankfully! Immediately my coworker friend that was going to drive me home came over to talk to me and so did my surgeon. She said my tendons were very tight and had to do another procedure. My friend was like "So she wasn't making it up then?" Bitch. I can definitely see now why patients feel they are rushed now though. Immediately the nurse was trying to get me in the wheelchair even though I said everything was really blurry and I wanted to sit some more. I was second to last case and the last one just went into surgery so there was no reason for it. My friend ended up making an off handed comment about it to the lead OR tech which then created an extremely awkward moment in which she confronted me about it in front of the nurse that was rushing me. Not sure why she felt she had to do it in front of the nurse but at that point I was totally fine to leave! Then I was left with that nurse all alone in PACU and felt like a total ass.

My surgeon came by and asked if I wanted her to give me a ride home. At that point I had been waiting for my friend to get back and could not get a hold of her and figured spazzy supervisor probably made her get back to the clinic. That was such an asshole move but wouldn't expect anything less from her. I took my surgeon up on her offer and she wheeled me to her car. Neither Jesse or I had been able to clean in days and the last thing I wanted her to see was my filthy tiny apartment. I ended up just getting out and saying "Thanks for everything!" as she was trying to walk me to the door. She was like "Are you sure? I don't want you fainting at the door or anything" Felt like a dick but she had seen enough unflattering parts of me that day, didn't need to add my smelly apartment into the mix too. I did text her yesterday thanking her again for being so great and she asked me how I was doing. I am doing a lot better than I thought I would be. Although Lilly has managed to fall on my wrist, kick it and grab it multiple times I've only had to take two pain pills the entire time so I'd say that's pretty good. Totally not looking forward to work tomorrow though!


NeonLady April 14, 2014

Why did you have a tube in your throat?? :(

Glad you are doing okay!

Fawkes Gal April 14, 2014

Glad surgery went well!

It's_all_a_journey April 14, 2014

Thank goodness it went well :)

Vee April 14, 2014

Hope you have a speedy recovery!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.