found me at last:-) in All for you

  • Oct. 24, 2020, 4:17 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Dust in the wind

Summer has gone now
ice cold winds fast approaching
as I walk into the forest
the dead and dying lie around me
look there’s some
I run kicking, jumping,
shouting, screaming.

There is sadness in my eyes
At what has been?
relentless death everywhere

Like corpses crushed under my feet,
I can hear their bones breaking,
shattering with every step I make,
The blood coating the earth.

The bodies of heroes,
the remnants of friends and foe,
intermingled in the winter dirt,
their faces mangled,
twisting beneath my boots
and t

With each step and a kick
I send them flying,
the dead catching an updraft,
some but children,
their faces turned to withered
with the passing of the season

How they craved summer!
they patiently waited for the warmth of June,
unknowing that the dead see no more summers,
and once the sun finally returns,
they are but dust, Memories
autumn shall be their grave,
winter their funeral.

Their veins, Their skin,
a mosaic of Gold’s reds and browns,
all dreary, and able to paint but one picture,
only a landscape filled with death.

They died shivering,
falling through the breeze,
as passersby
said final goodbyes,
before walking on with their lives,
not pausing for a moment,
because the trees
the trees
let October leaves
fall with every passing day.


Marg October 25, 2020

Great poem Malcolm - and how lovely to see you here!

skyelord Marg ⋅ October 25, 2020

my problem was couldn't remember tis sat on my lap you trying every thing. very careful knack dating finely goy it. but my illness isn't helping me eye sight and dementia, but imp still around so that's good

Marg skyelord ⋅ October 26, 2020

That’s always good news! Hope you’ll be back writing more soon :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.