Again with the dropping in in Open Diary transition

  • April 13, 2014, 12:54 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Here I am again, seemingly dropping in. I want this to be my daily stopping ground but I'm not sure if I will ever find the time for that again. Maybe in retirement?

So, Rhea got kicked out of swimming lessons today. She is such a poor listener and far too independent for her own good. She was a safety issue for the instructor and I could see the poor girl's blood pressure rising every time Rhea ran away from the group. Not to mention she couldn't teach the other three kids in the group when she had to constantly go running after mine. About halfway through the lesson she just picked her up and carried her over to me kicking and screaming and said, sorry, but she can't come back. I managed to convince the swimming pool to let me re-join the parent and tot class (that we just completed a few weeks back) because that way I'm in the water and she's my safety risk instead of theirs. sigh I love my kid, but, guys, she's a real asshole. I hate to say it, but it's just how it is. She doesn't listen to anyone, ever. She hits. She is so goddamn stubborn it's nearly impossible. Her own father won't even spend time alone with her because she's so difficult to handle. It's just...shitty.

In other, better news, I was offered an afternoon position for the next 25 school days, with possibility of extension. My school has been given some funding to set up a pilot program to get this kid in grade 1 back to full days, as he has been on partial days for most of the year, and the position was offered to me. He has an educational assistant assigned to him as well, but he's not getting much of his academic work done. This program was piloted at another school with some older (jr. high) kids and they are hoping it can be modified for this little guy. My job will be to modify the program to fit the needs of a seven-year-old with severe mental health issues. The EA actually requested that I be the one to set up the program so I got first dips. I'm happy to have guaranteed full days. I usually get 3-5 afternoons of substituting each week, but it's never guaranteed. It will be nice to have some stability too. Last week I was the principal one day, a classroom teacher another day, a gym teacher and the vice principal, on top of being the part-time counsellor. While I can never get bored with a schedule like that, it will be nice to know what role I'll be filling.

My mom was here from March 10 until April 2. She was supposed to leave on April 1 but there was a blizzard so she didn't get to leave on time. Along with the week of March break that I had off we had six snow days while she was here, so we spent a lot of time together. It was nice. I always hate to see her go, but I feel like it was a really good visit. We basically potty trained Rhea over the break as well. She still has an occasional accident, but she isn't in diapers anymore, so that's awesome. Unfortunately, her accidents seem to occur most often in her car seat (like today), so it's not always sunshine and lollipops in potty-trained land either. She would have gotten her Potty Fairy (read: bribe) gift tomorrow if she had not had the accident today. I told her that she has to put all of her pees and poops in the potty for a full week before the Potty Fairy will bring her a gift. She chose a creepy fucking robot monkey and a yellow hat so she could be the Man in the Yellow Hat and the creepy monkey could be Curious George. My kid, along with behaviourally challenged, is incredibly weird.

That's all I got for now. Can't wait to catch up!


pandora April 13, 2014

Congrats on potty-training the asshole--that must say a lot about your parenting skills!! I hope she settles down soon; I'm the problem is just that she's a total genius (takes after her momma).

midnight radio pandora ⋅ April 13, 2014

Haha! Oh yeah, butter me up! In fact, she's scary smart. Like, literally creeps people out with the shit she knows.

donut April 13, 2014

My sister is having a lot of trouble with Mason not listening, either. Like, ever. Apparently they went to Boston Pizza last night and all he did was scream and tantrum, too. Uh, yay? I guess what I want to say is that you're not the only one!

Squidobarnez April 14, 2014

you are a rockin' momma, and I hope you're having as pleasant of a now as you can.

PB-buddy-huggies

Can't Steal My Sunshine August 28, 2014

Hello I am from OD too and just stopped by because I saw one of your entries on the front page. I had a son who got kicked out of playgroups cause he was the only boy and wanted to play guns. Those uppity ladies there had a fit about him wanting to play guns and how they would never let their little children do that. LOL

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.