The Curious Incident of A.J. Fikry and Alaska (Three Reviews) in Back entries: 2013 - 2015

  • April 10, 2014, 11:10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

During the last couple of weeks, I’ve finished three books worth reviewing. The first one is The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-Time by Mark Haddon (272 pages, with appendix). The story of fifteen year old, maths and science wiz Christopher who just so happens to be attending special education classes. When he discovers his neighbour’s dog murdered, he decides to go hunt down the killer.

This book was brilliant. The type of book that I never wanted to finish reading, the character of Christopher stayed with me after I closed the book. It’s going on my “top ten favourite” books list. I’ve already recommended this to my mother (and I don’t tend to recommend books to her, as I’m never sure if she’ll ever read them). Five out of five stars.

The Collected Works of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Levin (243 pages) is the story of the widowed owner of a failing bookshop who has his life changed by two people - the new book rep and an abandoned baby left in his store. It’s not as good as The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, but it’s worth a read. I may re-read this at some point in the future. A good summer read. I saw it advertised in a book shop catalogue, and was glad I picked it up. Four stars out of five.

Looking For Alaska by John Green (272 pages, including a chapter called Some Last Words On Last Words and Acknowledgements) is about a young man called Miles Halter, who changes schools and meets the interesting Alaska Young. What happens next changes his life. This is Green’s debut novel, and as debuts go it’s not bad. Not quite my cup of tea, but a quick and easy read. Perhaps a little predictable in parts, I found. Which was a shame. Still, it’s another book I’m glad I read but I don’t know if I want to re-read it. Probably three stars out of five.


Last updated January 01, 2015


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.