On The Study of Purpose: Pt 2 in The Entitlement of Soul Discovery

  • Sept. 15, 2020, 5:32 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I said I would write the second part, so here I am.
TO recap:
“The question is, Which one, in particular, draws you to it the most? Which one do you most want to lend your brain, your energies, your skills and gifts, your life, to serve, while you are here on this Earth? When you are done, enter a summary paragraph or essay of what you have decided your purpose or mission is, on the Goal, Purpose, or Mission in Life page.”
I went off on a tirade about the law and justice and how little it really exists in the current shared reality. Justice exists only for the privileged few and even then, can it really be called Justice? It applies to so few people for so few trespasses that it’s negligible.
So, I’m going to tackle the next:
Sphere of Possessions: “The question is: Is your major concern the often false love of possessions in this world? When you have finished your life here on Earth, do you want there to be better stewardship of what we possess—as individuals, as a community, as a nation—in the world, because you were here? Do you want to see simplicity, quality (rather than quantity), and a broader emphasis on the word “enough,” rather than on the words “more, more”? If so, in what areas of human life in particular?”
I would love for people to be less focused on the material and maintain some semblance of seeing self-worth and significance not through one’s possessions. We have been irrevocably taught that self worth has to be shown, paraded around for everyone to see. To flaunt it in a way that “strikes envy in others”. I’m here to say – as a marketer – this is all marketing bullshit. The only thing anyone sees when you’re revving that V10 is how much of a tool you are. No one else is like “oh damn I’m jealous.” Everyone is like, “Oh, geez man. Sorry about your penis.” When your coworkers see you in Chanel (or insert overhyped designer name here) is “Wow, how much into debt did you go?” or “Geez, what are you trying to prove?” No one really cares.
Now that it’s out of the way....
Instead of focusing on how much money we make and how important that makes us to the world, maybe we should focus on something else. Most people are trying to impress people they don’t like at jobs that they don’t like to get junk that they can’t take with them when they die. I’m not into getting the fancy car or clothes. What I am into is seeing my name outlast me. I want my name to be written down somewhere and remembered for the future to see. I’m not having children, so to have my name extend beyond me in that fashion is (not only selfish but also) not feasible. I would think that I would publish my 8 novel series and have it be moderately successful. If it would reach Harry Potter levels, that would be amazing, but that’s like winning the lottery. But to at least have my name rest on the lips of someone whose life my words changed, that would be enough. I can’t take my clothes, my car, anything with me after I die. Even then, I can’t take my name with me. But this incarnation of “me” will remain behind as a memory to the toils I experienced. What else is there to have?
When every speaker and window screams out to us to buy, buy, buy, the supreme act of rebellion is not to. Abstain. Conserve. Reuse and repurpose. Why is it that we are unsatisfied with what we have? Why do we always say, “screw you, I got mine”, instead of caring for one another to make a cohesive society? Why must this competition be the case? It’s an endless frustration to where nothing is ever good enough, nothing satisfies. I will never be satisfied, either, until something is done about this. Now that’s a weird ironic sentiment right there: I won’t be satisfied until those that are unsatisfied become satisfied simply on the basis of what they have. It’s odd, I realize.


Last updated September 15, 2020


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.