Six of Seven in The Entitlement of Soul Discovery

  • Aug. 26, 2020, 10:29 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m getting there! After this, only one more to go! I’m trying to consider these assignments to exercise my writing muscle, but really, this is nothing but an unedited stream of consciousness that I am posting publicly because why TF not.
There’s a part of me that says that this is secretly some sort of self-esteem building exercise where one writes down their accomplishment journeys to bolster themselves. I mean, there’s a part of me also that feels a little more confident just looking at what I’ve done and how I’ve done about it. I constantly have to beat back the doubt and depression, but that’s neither here nor there.
Well, let’s get on with it, shall we?

To recap, I am to write about:
1. A goal I wanted to accomplish
2. Some kind of hurdle or obstacle
3. Step by step, how did you achieve your goal?
4. A description of the result
5. Any measurable/quantifiable statement from the outcome

Back in 2017 when I lived on a permaculture farm for a few months, I discovered that while I was getting free room and board in exchange for my work on the farm, it wasn’t paying for other eventualities that I was incurring. I decided that I needed a way to make some money on the side so I could go into town every so often to enjoy myself on my days off. I decided then that I would start dog/house sitting as a way to gain more income. It was something that I hadn’t really done before professionally, but I do have tons of experience with raising dogs and keeping houses.
I signed up then for several different platforms where people could hire me out to do such things. Folks in WA were more open to the idea of having this service rather than where I am now in FL, and it was only a week or so on the platform that I had gotten my first job. I met with the couple before they hired me, charmed their metaphorical pants off, and landed the gig. During my time with their dog, I sent pictures, videos, just about anything to give them peace of mind that I was not some psycho in their house with their animal. They loved it and, in turn, loved me. They hired me for 3 different jobs after that and left me 5-star reviews every time. That was the traction I needed. I also had some help from friends on Facebook to leave some reviews to get me started, and I thank everyone for that. I made over $1000 in my first year. Then I made over $2500 in the next. 2020 has been a bit of a let-down, but this is not usual. I’m just going to have to start a new strategy.
I am now at 26 five-star reviews, but now I’m having trouble gaining traction on another platform that I have signed up for. I’m trying to triage it in order to get what I need to fix, but I’ll have more info about that as it becomes available.


Last updated August 26, 2020


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.