Five of Seven in The Entitlement of Soul Discovery

  • Aug. 25, 2020, 10:44 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

This is taking far too long for my taste, but I must persevere!
This assignment before its undertaking stood unto me a nature of simplicity. Wrong. Ever so WRONG. Frustration mounts as I struggle to come up with more stories to put here. However, I will continue to the best of my abilities.

To recap the assignment I must right about:
1. A goal I wanted to accomplish
2. Some kind of hurdle or obstacle
3. Step by step, how did you achieve your goal?
4. A description of the result
5. Any measurable/quantifiable statement from the outcome

One time when I was teaching English in Argentina, one of the teachers had called out sick, and per Argentinian fashion, the headmaster waits until the last minute to inform me – as in I only have my lunch hour to plan a lesson for this class. Fortunately, it’s not a low-level English class. It’s for higher levels where they are reading ::checks notes:: Shakespeare?
Friggin Shakespeare for a higher-level English class? I could barely understand some antique Spanish literature back in college. How are these high schoolers – you know what, nevermind. I have to prepare.
I got my hands on a copy of the book from the headmaster at the moment I was told, but it had been so long since I last read this play, I was quite at a loss. I can’t even remember the last time I read/watched “The Merchant of Venice”. I had to figure this out.
Thanks once again to the internet, I found a copy of the Spark Notes for this play and the exact section they last left off. In the span of 50 minutes, I instantly became an expert at this damn play. I had skimmed over the section in the class book, gotten the themes, and understood the points that needed to be relayed without so much as a hint from the teacher that was assisting this class with the reading. Thanks, Spark Notes. You saved my ass.
I walked into that classroom where some of the students had already known who I was, but many of these faces I had never met before. What really delighted me as the look on their faces when I walked in. Excitement. I felt like She-Ra with the sword, and the moment I walked into that room, I wanted to yell her catchphrase, but I didn’t need people thinking I was insane.
I thought I pulled that class off fairly well, despite only having that amount of time to prepare something I knew so little about. The students engaged themselves with the play we were reading and participated in the discussion at hand.
I wouldn’t mind teaching again, but only if the school system gets their crap together and gets rid of all the bureaucracy, ups teacher pay, and teachers get more respect as a profession more than just a glorified babysitter.
Get your sh*t together, America.


Last updated August 25, 2020


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.