Four of Seven in The Entitlement of Soul Discovery

  • Aug. 24, 2020, 4:26 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

After this entry, we’ll be halfway done with this assignment. Then I can catalog them, quantify them, then move on with this wretched book (For your reference, it’s the What Color Is Your Parachute 2020 ).
This is honestly what stopped me in my previous endeavors, including the book Designing Your Life, where they ask that you stop the book and keep track of when you’re in a flow state. That was 8 months ago. I haven’t touched the book since because asking me to keep track of flow is like asking a squirrel to keep track of their acorns. I have no idea where they would be right now. I know I had them at some point, but where they are or where I dropped them, I couldn’t tell you to save my life.
Anyways....
Let’s move on with #4, shall we?

For the recap, I am to write about:
1. A goal I wanted to accomplish
2. Some kind of hurdle or obstacle
3. Step by step, how did you achieve your goal?
4. A description of the result
5. Any measurable/quantifiable statement from the outcome

After I had gotten laid off from a previous job of mine, I had to think of something fast. I knew things about marketing, and with the general area consisting of many small businesses, I thought I could help out and reach out to those around me.
Instead of going door to door, I figured I would research some tactics to see if I could land any sort of freelance work just to tide me over until I found another job.
I started going to networking groups in the morning, happy hours in the evening, and just about any sort of gathering I would learn about to talk to people about what it was that I did.
I managed to get a few clients from this approach. I made some money, but it wasn’t enough to keep me afloat for very long. I managed to get a few writing gigs online to tide me over as well, but I was still marginally eating into my savings by a few hundred dollars, just to pay my rent. I knew that eventually, this would pay off into something, much like right now, where I am pretty much repeating that same process except this time within the job market. I’m fortunate enough to still be employed, but the excruciating day-in and day-out of monotony, lifelessness, and indiscreet micromanaging kills every ounce of will in me.
But I digress. Back in 2019 before I found this soul-sucking job, that’s what I was doing. I think I only sat alone in my room for a day before I picked myself back up and headed out the door to a networking group. I had to do something not to feel sorry for myself.
But now I am back where I started over a year ago and worse for the wear. Right now, I’m playing every card I have right now that I think might do something to get me out of this craptastic situation.
If I got out of it once, I can get out of it again.
At least, this is what I hope for.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.