Third of Seven in The Entitlement of Soul Discovery

  • Aug. 24, 2020, 4:11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Thus continues the assignment of 7 stories about how I solved a problem. To recap, it’s supposed to follow this order:
1. A goal I wanted to accomplish
2. Some kind of hurdle or obstacle
3. Step by step, how did you achieve your goal?
4. A description of the result
5. Any measurable/quantifiable statement from the outcome

I volunteer with a local LGBTQ+ nonprofit that helps out local, regional, and national queer artists get a platform to showcase their crafts. We assist a number of different media and a rainbow parade of different people to give them a platform for others to see. It’s decent work, and many have gained notoriety because of the platform we provide.
One time, we wanted to do a live Q+A session with a band that we had been working closely with and who have had experience in working with other trans youth across the nation while on tour.
We were supposed to do this live and in-person when Corona hit.
That’s when we had to go virtual, and I was tasked with coming up with how. Mind you, I am the social media person and the digital marketing consultant for this organization. This was outside my wheelhouse, but I wasn’t going to let this slip by.
Through careful research into my options as well as consulting others through – yep, you guessed it – Reddit (ftw again), I managed to come up with a plan. Seeing how we were dealing with a shoestring budget (i.e. nothing), I managed a workaround to make this happen.
First, we would go with Zoom for the live conferencing. Through the magic of OBS, I managed to cast live via my own computer our Zoom stream with a logo at the bottom and premiering one of their music videos, all with transitions during this live session.
Some snags happened in the beginning, but I managed to get it figured out while only losing a year of my life thanks to the subsequent anxiety from losing transmission.
However the information still got across and got hundreds of views during the broadcast. It wasn’t perfect or even the best, but it still got done.
I’m beginning to think that maybe I’m just really good at researching stuff and implementing what I find.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.