I'm just soul tired in Just in Case

  • Aug. 14, 2020, 5:15 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s crazy that it’s still just the first week of school. It feels like we’ve been in for so long. Today was the first day I left before 6. (In all honesty, one night was after 7, one after 8, and the other was 10:00). I’m trying to help the teachers who need help with technology. I’m trying to work on my classroom. We have a new site tech who is supposed to be helping me, (my 5th grade coworker), but so far all she’s done is make cute forms and “teach” others how use Google Classroom, which overwhelmed most of them who then came to me for help. She’s young and eager - and has some learning to do. She spent a fortune on her classroom this summer on decorations. Not fun classroom decorations, but Rae Dunn type of decorations. Wooden slat crates for storage, baskets, signs and greenery everywhere. Burlap runners on her table. She convinced both of our neighbors to repaint their rooms and do them all pastel like hers. They all have the same printouts she does - all so pretty and matchy matchy. My bright turquoise walls and mismatched baskets (plastic baskets for my library) are driving her nuts. I told her those things weren’t important to me. I like my eccentric - nerd themed classroom - just like it is. And that for me - the classroom is about the kids, so I take as little space as possible for me. She doesn’t. She’ll grow and realize what’s important and what to just let go. But, the problem is, she doesn’t ever want to do anything technology related. I keep trying to show her things and she’s always “busy”. This burning the candle at both ends is about to run me ragged. She’s going to have to step up and do something.
Just another whining entry. Tomorrow I’ll feel bad I wrote this, but tonight, I’m just deep down, to the bone, tired.


Jinn August 14, 2020

I can see why you are tired. How frustrating for you. Possibly tech intimidates her but she is embarrassed to admit it . She is decorating like a Pinterest article ; more for herself than the kids. Hopefully she will learn .
It’s all going to be remote learning here for now. We have too many cases.
I am keeping you in my prayers. Stay safe ! ❤️

terriberri August 14, 2020

you should NEVER feel bad about what you write!!! what we feel is real, and we should get to express it. those of us that know and love you, respect your feelings and your right to express them. AND i'm not a teacher, but to some degree i FEEL for your frustrations and exhaustion girl!!! sending a huge, huge, virtual hug.

Jigger August 15, 2020

Girl, wallow! You’ve earned it! I hope she steps up soon, and you get a chance at some rest.

Small Town Girl August 16, 2020

Soul tired. What a great way of describing it. 10 pm is just too late! Unfortunately with these crazy times I'm sure your looking toward more.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.