Sweet in 1000 words

  • Aug. 9, 2020, 7:11 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Ooooh how I miss travel.

My heart yearns when I start looking through pictures.

I realize now that earlier this year when I couldn’t find anyone to go on even a weekend trip, that the Universe was protecting me and warning me of the impending chaos.

But it doesn’t stop the drive to want to plan and go … anywhere.

Skyr cake with (I believe) lingonberry sauce and gold chocolate sprinkles.

Oh Iceland …

alt text


Firebabe August 10, 2020

Beautiful.

Totally hear you about the travel thing. I can't even imagine what it's going to look like when all this is over. People are going to be travelling for months.

Jigger August 10, 2020

Wow, that’s gorgeous.

Also, yes. Even my in-state travel got blown all to hell this year. I was going to train Murphy to come along, too.

Serin August 11, 2020

So this skyr stuff... is that an end product you purchased or something you made?

auburn_girl Serin ⋅ August 11, 2020

Skyr is Icelandic yogurt. It's kind of like Greek yogurt but has more protein.

You can buy skyr at Loblaws or any President's Choice vendor. It's not quite as good as the stuff you get in Iceland, but it's not bad.

And I didn't make this, sadly. We did a walking food tour last year when we were in Iceland and this was the final stop.

Calicakes August 13, 2020

Do you feel uncomfortable even taking a weekend trip to TO?

auburn_girl Calicakes ⋅ August 13, 2020

Porter hasn't restarted flights and there's only one Air Canada flight per day right now. Driving is 8+ hours each way. J can't leave the district or his work requires him to quarantine for 14 days. So a weekend trip isn't really feasible right now. I'm not worried about Covid, we've had less than 100 cases a day for several weeks now.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.