Not Just a Scrap of Paper! in QUOTIDIEN

  • April 6, 2014, 10:26 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

During a fit of note-passing in my sixth grade English class, I asked my friend, Maureen C LaPerriere , to write something with meaning. She had quite a way with words, this one, and she wrote, 'With every sun that rises- And with every sun that sets, I love you a little bit more.'

Not a profession of love - but an example of imagery that blew me away;a key to a lock; a wind at my back, urging me to close my eyes and see what I was writing.

Several years later, an English teacher welcomed me at the end of this discovered corridor with an A+ in composition, and a note that complimented me on my gift of breathing life into the written word. The effect of both incidences together did more than just encourage me to write, it altered the way I viewed life in general.

Suddenly I became aware of the subtext of living, where all movement had meaning, and that there was an intrinsic value to stillness. I began to search for light in dark corners, and became conscious of the darkness behind blinding light.

I don't know what I might have been without these mile markers. I believe, however, that because of them, I am not chasing the dream, the dream s reveal themselves to me.

Teachers, be mindful. Encouragement between students, and the recognition of a teacher, can be the chance-in-a-lifetime, most positive, perspective-changing moment in a child's life.


Pintador April 06, 2014

Imagine the "gay bashing" ridicule that two girls would receive in today's classroom for that particular note! Sounds like you took it all with a grain of salt; I see where AM gets her spunk ;) And the nun was sadly misguided..as teachers often are.

hot-lips April 08, 2014

Your friend certainly did have a way with words. I wish I could write poems and such, but I never had that gift. I will just have to stick to photography being my creative outlet :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.