Tomorrow is here in Just in Case

  • Aug. 4, 2020, 10:06 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

We start school tomorrow. We won’t have kids until Monday. When I let myself, I just get so full of anxiety with all of this. Normally, this is such a happy time for me. I’m always so excited to start a new year. To get to know my kids. To plan the fun activities. To decorate my room. This year that has changed. There’s so much stress.
Will I carry the virus to my family? (Until we know how things are going to go - I won’t be visiting my parents. That’s so hard to accept.)
1/3 of our kids in 5th grade will be virtual. Will I be able to connect with them even though we won’t be face to face? Will I be the teacher they need me to be?
Our other kids are coming in a hybrid schedule. Some will come Mon/Thurs the others will be Tues/Fri. Figuring out how to plan for it all is so hard. I feel my stress rising just thinking about it.
There’s no hands on. I’m a science teacher. There’s no hands on. How do I engage them without letting them getting involved??
There’s no teams. I’ve built my classroom to revolve around teams.
There’s so much more. Recess. Lunch and breakfast in our rooms. Buses having to make 3 or 4 runs. So kids will be there earlier and later. Less time to teach.
We don’t have the technology we need for the kids who are learning at home. I’m one of the site techs at the school, so I’m one of the ones in charge of choosing what teachers have to give up their technology and handing it out to families.
Somehow, society has turned on teachers. I made what I thought was an innocent comment on a post by Amazon about the discounted prime membership to those on medicaid and ebt cards. I asked if they had considered offering the student discount to teachers as well. You would have thought that I asked if all the puppies in the world could be lined up and beaten. I was told I was a slacker. I was a whiner. I got into teaching for the wrong reasons. I had a part time job and was milking the system. I expected hardworking parents to provide extra supplies for those whose parents chose not to work, and get welfare instead. (The exact comment was about kids without pencils, but with $200 Jordans.) When I explained that I taught at a poor, rural school, and my kids didn’t have $200 shoes, I got told I was racist. (I have no idea why that statement came out.) Anyway, I deleted my comment, so all the hatred went away. (Well, it went away on facebook, but it’s still there in my head.) In my head I know that they don’t know me. They don’t know the sacrifices I make for my kids and my classroom. But, my heart feels that hate still.
The stress and anxiety are amplified by the fact that I’m not sleeping. No matter how hard I try, I can’t get to sleep before 2 or 3 am. It’s usually a restless sleep. I’m shooting for earlier tonight. I have to get up for school tomorrow.
Gosh this entry is full of whining. I hate that.


Jigger August 05, 2020

It’s not whining, it’s venting and decompressing.

I’m so sorry about the ignorant hatred. If I could take it all away, I would. It’s uncalled for, and just mean-spirited.

MFK’s district is doing a full open, full days, full classes. As far as I can tell, no distancing required, unless the teachers rearrange their room desks themselves? Students do have the option to choose distance-learning, but that means they’re going to have to do double the prep, so they can teach the ones in the room, and the ones going online.

I’m sewing masks and buying another bottle of hand sanitizer every time I see it. It’s all I can do.

dream seeker Jigger ⋅ August 05, 2020

That’s a lot!!
Thanks for the support. Planning for some all time virtual as well as some part time virtual-part time fave to face has been stressful. We have mandates that our desks are supposed to be 6 feet apart. (I can fit 11 desks in my room if I do that.) We’ll be in masks all day and so will the kids. As stressful as all that is, it’s just as stressful to think of going back with the only protection being what you choose to do with no support. That’s crazy!!

terriberri August 05, 2020

i can't imagine being in your position. when i see all the stuff about schools opening, i feel like it's the teachers who are most at risk. i understand the anxiety, big time. here...there is no option to open for a while, cause covid counts are so high. when they get low enough they will do this whole process that they are calling "watch list". if i were a parent of young kids, i don't think i'd send them to school. it's all very nerve wracking, and i'm not even in any of those positions...teacher, student or parent. i do however have a clear understand of how "getting covid" feels....so i understand that part of your anxiety completely. as far as you connecting with students whether in the classroom or online, i just feel like that will happen, because you are so awesome, and when a teacher TRULY cares, they just shine. that's how i see you.

dream seeker terriberri ⋅ August 06, 2020

Louisiana has been #1 per capita in the nation. Yay us. It's the redneck fools who think the masks are infringing on their rights. I could talk about that all night long. The virtual kids we have (about 1/4 of our school) are those whose parents just didn't want to send them. Some have medical reasons (the child or a family member), some were just scared, and some had their own reasons. I totally get them. I'm very lucky. I teach in a small district. We start every year with a devotional. For the past several years it's been my principal's preacher. It really helps start us off on the right foot. It settles us some.

Small Town Girl August 05, 2020

That Amazon sotry infuriates me. Teachers are about to be the new front line workers! I would be the same as you, stewing about that nasty comments. But please know that those ignorant idiots are just that
Ignorant idiots. So sorry you have all this stress. Hang tough

dream seeker Small Town Girl ⋅ August 06, 2020

Thank you. I know they're idiots and only represent a handful of the people. You just sometimes hear the loudest voices the most.

Jinn August 07, 2020

You are a rock Star and very brave. Those people who made those remarks are ignorant . Pitiful.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.