Playing with light... in Flash

  • April 5, 2014, 8:04 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

 photo DSC08388.jpg


To post pictures here:

  • upload pictures to photobucket
  • chose picture, on Links to Share on right of screen
  • chose HTML (the one that begins with a caret), click on it to copy
  • come to open editing window at Prosebox, paste HTML into the editing window, check with Preview to see if it worked.
  • it does for me.

 photo DSC08384.jpg


Those are the bowls my dentist makes. He sells them with all money going to the free clinic in his town.

I bought the small one at an art store and the bigger one from him directly at his house where he was part of an art fair.

He has a beautiful new clinic. The view from the examining chair is beautiful. Lush decorative grasses and other plants through the winter in the foreground, the river beyond, and wooded bluffs beyond the river.

He is a nice man.

He is going to fix my tooth on May 2, root canal and crown, all accomplished in one visit, starting at 7:30 am. A bit spendy, but it's been a long time since I've put any money into my head, so it's ok. I hope so.


The drive Thursday to the dentist was the same drive I took to my old job. I had forgotten how boring the straight, mostly level twenty miles was. I found myself being grateful for the more exciting and varied drive I have to my new job, including its 9% grade.

After the dentist I drove back through my other town - the one with the library where I work on the fair book. That drive is more interesting too. But first I went by my old work place. I thought of stopping, sometimes former workers would stop by when I worked there, but I didn't.

What surprised me though were vivid memories of my noon walks around the loop of streets at my old workplace. Walking, especially repeated, walks of the same route, really impress your mind. I felt what it felt like, I remembered the weather, the traffic, the times I gave directions, the trash I picked up, the flowers I picked - it all came back to me.

Life is full of changes. We walk away from places where we spent our days, where we shared time and tasks with a set of people. My clothes no longer get ink stained. My fingernails no longer have ink under them. The car seat stays clean. I no longer park against the building. I no longer punch the time clock with my left index finger. I no longer have that job.


noko April 05, 2014

Nice light. We didn't have any today. Glad you were able to share yours. I feel the way you describe here when I go back to San Francisco. That city is in my body. It remembers so much.

Deleted user April 05, 2014

Amazing, isn't it, how when you go back to a place, your mind picks up so many memories that you didn't even realize you were creating the first time around.

Those bowls are gorgeous... I love that kind of craft, and what a great way to use the profit!

Are you familiar with the prosebox wiki? https://prosebox.wikispaces.com/

Just Annie April 06, 2014

Beautiful photographs of beautiful bowls!

Darcy0207 from OD April 06, 2014

Thanks for the tips. I have pics I want to upload - left them in CA - will try the next time I am there. These are beautiful.

thesunnyabyss April 06, 2014

beautiful bowls,

gotta love an interesting drive!

Deleted user April 06, 2014

When I first came here to PB I really didn't like it much, but I've gotten used to it somewhat and find it a little easier. I finally up loaded my photographs to Photobucket and have been able to load them here in PB. But I do plan on starting a diary on Easy Diary as soon as EWS has it ready for sign up. I think I'll keep PB to stay in touch with those who don't come to Easy Diary. But it'll be hard to keep up two diaries, so I think I'll do most of my entries on Easy Diary because it'll be very similar to Open Diary. One thing I don't like about here on PB is when making an entry, the line spacing. If I post a poem, the stanzas look more like a sentence (or used to before I put a space in between each line.

NorthernSeeker April 06, 2014

I get those vivid memories of my days by watching my photos come up on photobucket. It makes me feel good during a period when things feel difficult...reminds me that good times have been had and will be had.

Duke April 07, 2014

What are the bowls made of?

I have two crowns and they took three appointments each. Good deal to get it done in one fell swoop.

woman in the moon April 07, 2014

The bowls are clay fired with some exotic glaze. I wish I had asked him how he did them.
The immediate crown making is new technology. The dentist says it works well. I will report on how well it works.

Deleted user April 07, 2014

Beautiful bowls ! I need to get some dental work done soon and I always dread it. I have a funny feeling when I drive by my old workplace but I am Never tempted to visit. I hated that place.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.