Talked my Face Off in 2020

  • Aug. 3, 2020, 10:21 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yep, my best and closest friend visited in person yesterday, from 1 to 6 o’clock and I talked my face off. She did, too. Whew! Isolation silence flew out the window. I feel much more myself today. Family news, culture, arts, politics…we covered that and more. Am I am hoping neither of us had some secret-to-us viral infection to share…we discarded our masks and sat apart, no hugs or kisses on the cheek upon arrival or exit. I feel sure we both are intact and healthy today. Each had been home for the most part.

My home in Fl has escaped all the tropical storm wind and rain that moved through, so soon I will put back all the things I took inside prior to its passage. This was very helpful to me in noting the things I’d need for this hurricane season, and most have been replenished or purchased. I couldn’t find my back up energy contraption for my cell, and a new one has arrived.

Last evening I realize that in my taking things inside I’d been bitten by our gnats…no- see-ums…as I marched back and forth though the healthy grass. I have always before kept some insect spray. summers, beside the door to outside, but this year I haven’t been outside often and so hadn’t replaced insect spray. And my itching spray is almost empty. Scratching and misery caused me to hit the rubbing alcohol last night and in the night and then again this morning. I need to protect myself in the future–I’m somewhat allergic to these gnats and tend to overreact to their sips of my blood.

My granddaughter Lindsay called me when my friend Terri was here, so we arranged to talk later....but didn’t get to reconnect last evening. I went to bed early and Lindsay was expecting a friend later that day. I hate not having being able to talk to her, because it’s been just too long since we spoke and that gap has been unusual. She’s in her thirties. My second granddaughter. We have a bond.

I end, hoping the storm now moving up the coast of the US causes no problems to others and also end feeling humbled we were not inundated here. So once more, as in all summers since 1973 we are in our hurricane season. We bow to nature and hope each time to survive the storms undamaged. And we try to be prepared.

I’m sure Mother Nature laughs.


Jinn August 03, 2020

So glad the storm did not impact you much and that you got to visit with your friend .

Kristi1971 August 04, 2020

Well that was a nearly perfect day! All but missing out on a granddaughter talk. Hugs.

Marg August 05, 2020

Oh that must have been so good to catch up with Terri after all that time!

ODSago Marg ⋅ August 05, 2020

It was wonderful. Nothing better between friends than the experience of two women getting together who have loved and supported each other for years. Secret keepers and supporters of each other. But I noted she looks fragile again, re her husband being not well again and all that involves. I'll keep my eye on her a little closer now.

Marg ODSago ⋅ August 08, 2020

Oh dear - you being there for her will help a lot I’m sure. I haven’t got together with my best friend yet since lockdown - I have that delight still to come! :)

noko August 05, 2020 (edited August 05, 2020)

Edited

It sounds like the storm prep was a good run for being prepared. Glad it passed you all by. Sometimes I think the best way for us to completely relax is to spend time with those we know so well. We take a break from the interior view and that can be so refreshing.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.