Reality Bites in Tea at the Cabin in the Woods

  • April 5, 2014, 2:30 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

She called last night to say she had been to see him. He is fine. He got a job in the kitchen which means he gets the best food and real coffee. Someone gave him a tablet of paper and pencil so he can write and he got a book from the library - "Catcher in the Rye." I laughed at that, how appropriate the book he'd read in jail would be that one... the book mentioned as the inspiration for so many psychopaths of the past. He is not a psychopath and according to her, he doesn't fit the prototype of the majority of the inmates. He is hoping to be released by Easter and she really wants him home with her soon. We had talked before he reported to serve the time and I had suggested he think of it as a sort of government imposed retreat. That got a laugh and a, "Mom, I've made my peace with this. I will not be drinking again and my smoking addiction will be done as well." Good intentions I hope he can follow through on.

My younger child's court date has again been postponed. She is frantically preparing for a show to open on Monday and still building inventory for the June show. I don't know how close she is to completing any of it but it isn't my issue, I suppose, so I don't ask. Today we finally got to take her for her Birthday dinner and get her gifts to her. We also took a bunch of food for her freezer and pantry to be sure she eats. It is not uncommon for her to hyper-focus and forget to eat when she's facing a deadline. This seemed to make her happy, having all the home canned goodies in the pantry. I took her a large jar of my garlic dill pickles, spiced apple sauce, stewed tomatoes, a couple jars of homemade salsa, apple jelly, sweet pickles and ratatouille along with an assortment of frozen veggies from last summer's garden. Healthy food if nothing else.

So, it was suggested I begin to think about sabbatical for the Spring of 2016 since I will need to put the request in by September or October of this fall. Lots of ideas of projects or research but nothing solid comes to mind. I have time to formulate all this, but geez, it seems so far away that any enthusiasm I may get for the project may have waned by the time I actually get to do the thing... Why does it take so long to get approvals at the college level? Ugh...

Well, I hear Hubby calling to get ready for the basketball games. I still have Wisconsin to win - so root for them.

Later!


whowhatwhere April 05, 2014

Wow, that really is far in advance. Spring of 2015 would be bad enough.

Nash April 06, 2014

"government imposed retreat" I like that. At least he has the right attitude.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.