Flash friday 4-4-14 Damn Bomb in Flash Friday

  • April 5, 2014, 3:54 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I got cracked on the skull and sat down hard. I was out for --- I don’t know how long, probably a second or two. My first thought was ‘Don’t tell anyone you were out, they’ll do a cat scan’. I think the fire started afterwards.

I saw this kid framed in the fire, standing there looking at me. No. He wasn’t standing he was shuffling his weight from foot to foot, rolling his shoulders, his neck loose, moving to the low shoulder and back like his center of balance was in his eyes.

I held out my hand and tried saying something, I guess I said something like “Hey, you there”, I was trying to say something else, I don’t know, concern for him, concern for me, something like “My skull is cracked and there’s a fire behind you” That makes about as much sense as “Hey, you there.”

Then the kid was gone. Maybe he just moved out of the light. I tried to tell the EMT’s, I mean tell them there was this kid. They were doing triage. That I could tell them anything put me down the list. It was pretty bad. I just got up and walked home after a while; nobody tried to stop me.

Emily called in the middle of the night.

“I heard about it on the news, are you all right?”

“Emily?”

“Yes, you ok?”

“What time is it?”

“10, oh, shit, sorry, um, it’s one your time.”

“I’m fine.”

“Ok, go back to sleep, sorry.”

“It’s ok honey, I’m fine.”

Flash Friday Community Page: https://www.prosebox.net/book/242/
New prompts: Wiked

ghostwalker April 06, 2014

<3 this stuff you write.

haredawg drools ghostwalker ⋅ April 08, 2014

Nice to see ya spooky.

Deleted user April 08, 2014

I wanted to read more !

haredawg drools Deleted user ⋅ April 08, 2014

The beauty of a flash for the reader is you get to imagine the more, for the writer, among other things, is the suggestion on both ends of the story makes it easy to revisit, at least plot wise, and expand.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.