GF Update in Health Journey

  • July 30, 2020, 4:53 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So since July 13, I’ve been gluten free with the exception of one cookie. I didn’t even think, just started eating it. Sheesh.

My main goal has been to be gluten free. My sub goal, and not the focus has also been to keep my carbs at under 139 g, or less than 30% of my intake. It has been quite attainable for the most part. This keeps my sugar consumption in check but is not super restrictive. I can still have a piece of chocolate or a peach or a piece of GF toast in the AM with breakfast. I have lots of veggies. I have been drinking water like crazy because it’s been so darn hot out and I’ve been working outside a TON.

I’ve lost almost 9 lbs total, my joints are sloooowly feeling a little better each day, and this month’s period, while heavy, was less intense than normal. And there you have it, my basic “diet” goals are being achieved in some ways.

A sample menu:

Breakfast
Coffee
Omelette
GF toast
Fruit

Or
Coffee
GF oatmeal w/ butter, pecans, brown sugar
Boiled egg

Or
Coffee
Leftovers of pulled pork and a little rice

Lunch
Steak
Green beans
Half a sweet potato
A handful of tomatoes from the garden

Or
Tuna fish with tomatoes and lettuce
Some plain potato chips

Or
A huge Greek salad with grilled chicken

Dinner
Stuffed peppers with extra ground meat
Cottage cheese

GF pasta with pesto and grilled chicken
Side salad
Applesauce

Snacks
Nuts
Mozzeralla stick wrapped in pepperoni
Fruit
Greek yogurt
GF crackers and cheese slices
Apple
Berries w/ whipped cream
Cheetos (are GF! Who knew?!)

Desserts
Dark chocolate
GF cookies
GF ice cream (Regular ice cream, just have to check the carton)
Rice Krispie treats


Jinn July 30, 2020

Thanks for the examples . I am not so worried about being GF but I am always wondering what I should choose to eat . It sounds like you are doing great !

Just Annie July 31, 2020

Cheetos are GF? I didn't know that. A serving size is within my carb limits for snacks, so when I want to be 'bad', I enjoy some Cheetos! (Plus the orange fingers are fun!)

AppleGirl Just Annie ⋅ July 31, 2020

Yes! I didn’t know either! A huge plus. I only buy them once or twice a year, and I like the crunchy ones, not the puffy ones (don’t know if puffy are gluten free...). Yum!

Just Annie AppleGirl ⋅ July 31, 2020

The crunchy ones are the best!

AppleGirl Just Annie ⋅ July 31, 2020

What are your carb limits, or how do you calculate it?

Just Annie AppleGirl ⋅ July 31, 2020

Snacks are 15 grams a serving or less. I aim for two snacks a day. Meals, I try to keep between 30-45, some diabetics can go up to 60. If something is 5 grams of fiber or more per serving, you can subtract that from the number of carbs to get the carbs per serving number but I don't. I try to keep my carbs between 120-150 per day. Two snacks, three meals. Oh, and anything with more than 10 grams of added sugar per serving is out. I've been lazy about it lately, but I'm trying to get back at it.

AppleGirl Just Annie ⋅ July 31, 2020

Ok, sounds like 139 g for the day is a good goal. I’m guessing you do it per meal/snack because you don’t want a spike?

Do you have diabetes or are you prediabetic?

I don’t have either, but I am certainly overweight and probably headed that way if I don’t watch it.

Just Annie AppleGirl ⋅ July 31, 2020

Type 2 diabetes. I take medication, but not insulin. Counting carbs and exercise helps me keep my blood sugar levels steady, but I struggle in the evenings.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.