England 8: backtracking for Piccadilly Circus in The England Chronicles - June 2013

  • Sept. 13, 2013, 10:59 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I realized after my last entry that I completely forgot to post Piccadilly Circus pictures. We didn’t spend much time there but passed through on Wednesday evening to get the tube back to Stratford after our Noel Fielding Art Show Experience and dinner at the Indian place in Soho, and then again on Thursday evening after walking from Kensington Palace through Hyde Park and down to Knightsbridge and then back to Soho via Piccadilly Circus to find the Thai place. So it wasn’t somewhere that we lingered, but of course I took a zillion pictures because, helllllllooooo!!!, Piccadilly Circus!!! Lights and lights and more lights!

I always get Mother Goose in my head when passing through Piccadilly Circus. (Yes, because I am always passing through Piccadilly Circus! In my dreams.)

There were no elephants or lions in Piccadilly Circus. But there was all this:

x

x

z

x

z

This building has HUGE constantly changing epileptic-fit inducing ads that kind of overwhelm the entire square… oddly I really didn’t get any good pictures of them this time. I think I took quite a few last time but it would be cheating to post last trip’s pictures on this trip’s entries. It was kind of tacky anyhow. But simultaneously cool, especially at night. Which was not when I took this one.

x

x

Of course Piccadilly Circus is most impressive at night. We were there around 10:00 on Wednesday.... and it still was not completely dark!!!

x

I apologize if this isn’t all technically Piccadilly Circus. The following picture is a street into Chinatown. I was never too sure of how the boundaries of Soho and Leicester Square and Piccadilly Circus and everything else in that area worked, but it was all around Piccadilly Circus, at least.  (note years later as I’m copying and pasting to get my pictures back on OD… what the hell?? The next picture is not Chinatown, nor is it anyone or anywhere I know. Several years ago Flickr was putting bizarre strange pictures into people’s photostreams and albums, and I assume this is one of those.) (another note even more years later - now it is Chinatown again.)

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

The Piccadilly Circus tube is really fun too. Well, I loved all the tube stations. They were all different, and a lot of them were nifty and retro and full of tiles.

x

x

Well, that didn’t take long. Maybe I’ll manage another entry tomorrow! Don’t hold your breath.


Last updated July 08, 2023


Lyn September 14, 2013

These pictures are AWESOME!

noko September 15, 2013

Such a nice combo. Love the one towards the end where the building is basically pink. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.