Hidden Companion in 2020

  • July 15, 2020, 11:32 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yes, I have a hidden companion now. A toad hopped into the house when a workman took a door down to replace the weatherproofing strip on the door’s bottom. I saw the toad hope in, over the workman’s leg as he knelt at the open doorway but the workman didn’t. The toad hopped directly to me and I called out, “Oh no…a toad hopped in!” but the workman was focused on the door and didn’t see it. He looked up, “Where? Where is it?’ I looked back at the workman and totally lost the toad. We went on, me looking for the toad and him working on the door.

I know where the toad was headed…but no sign of it has been evident. If frogs have turned into princes in our favorite stories, I’m wondering what a fat toad turns into. Tempted to say a Trump-like character but that would not be polite would it? So I am living now in my house, Idle Hours, with a toad. I’m hoping it wasn’t a pregnant toad.

Otherwise I’m waiting for the insurance to let me know if it will fund some of the roof replacement, not believing it will and on the other hand comparing the estimates from two well known companies. Hating to pay the cost but if I live to ninety in this house I guess I’ll be even less capable of making these decisions later. So this is the time. But in rainy season? I feel totally capable of handling this but am taking it very seriously.

The Orlando area of FL where I live still has one of the highest rates of newly confirmed corona virus 19 in the world. I take exposure really seriously, so I continue with my isolation, masks and other methods of protection.


Amelie's Twin July 15, 2020

You'll just have to befriend a heron now for pest control!

ODSago Amelie's Twin ⋅ July 15, 2020

laughing delightedly

Kristi1971 Amelie's Twin ⋅ July 16, 2020

Oh...kind of like "The Little Old Lady Who Swallowed the Fly"! My girls love that book and giggle all the way through.

Zipster July 15, 2020

I think toads lay eggs that become tadpoles? How unusual for it to enter your home, especially with a human right there. Could it be a neighbor's pet?

ODSago Zipster ⋅ July 15, 2020

Not unusual in FL. All of our animals want to try to become our cohabitants.

Wit' or witout July 15, 2020

I'm hoping it is a prince!

ODSago Wit' or witout ⋅ July 15, 2020

Well, I'm hoping the same thing but am concerned that happens to only frogs.

Florentine July 15, 2020

Hopefully he won't be croaking while you're trying to sleep tonight!

ODSago Florentine ⋅ July 15, 2020

Well, then I'd know where it was, but of course. For the moment, anyway.

Amelie's Twin Florentine ⋅ July 15, 2020

Oof, I had a cricket in my house once; the chirping was positively maddening!

ODSago Amelie's Twin ⋅ July 15, 2020

I actually like cricket sounds...there are nary any crickets in this area...many where I grew up in VA.

Amelie's Twin ODSago ⋅ July 15, 2020

Oh I do too - just not all the time day and night and not from five feet away. grin

ODSago Amelie's Twin ⋅ July 16, 2020

Ha...understand.

noko July 15, 2020

Boy, never a dull moment there. Hope Mr. Toad finds his own way home and doesn't bother you.

ODSago noko ⋅ July 15, 2020

I feel the same about your life...never a dull moment. i hope if it is a Ms. Toad that I don't fine eggs in the toilet water.

Bomb Shell July 18, 2020

Don’t worry about it being pregnant, it will need a pond to lay its spawn in and a male to fertilise the eggs, which happens as they are laid. So you won’t have any baby toads in your house 😊 I hope you find it though!

Jinn August 03, 2020

Hoping it finds it’s way out . They need an enormous amount of bugs to survive . I found that out the hard way when I let Blake keep one as a pet one Winter. I spent a fortune feeding him . Come Spring he returned to the wild posthaste !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.