Why? in Health Journey

  • July 14, 2020, 8:13 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Had a couple good questions as to why we are going GF.
Hubby has severe acid reflux. We’ve tried it before and his issue clears up within a few days of cutting out gluten.
Daughter was happy to discover that her acne issues disappeared on a GF diet, and she lost some weight.
I have major joint pain, especially lower back/hips, and especially around my period. When I cut out gluten, it is much improved, I’m guessing because of lower inflammation? I also have lost a good amount of weight on a gluten free diet in the past - 40+ lbs. We have all discussed and decided we feel better when we eat this way.

I’m sure that along with wheat comes sugar in many cases -breads, sweets, cake, donuts, cereal, bagels, etc.. and cutting out the sugar along with it just helps as well.

Yesterday was pretty simple actually. I made a nice sized breakfast full of protein, and I wasn’t hungry for lunch until 3 PM, and then we had dinner at 7 after doing a bunch of yard work. When you have dinner that late, you are not really hungry enough to snack before bed.
Lunch was a bean burger (that was left behind by our house/pet sitter that I had bought for her while we were gone) - it was actually quite tasty- a spicy black bean Morningstar brand. Dinner was grilled chicken, sweet potato, broccoli, cottage cheese.

I had a square of Ghiradelli dark chocolate afterwards and of course lots of water during the day.

This morning I made a frittata - onions, mushrooms, bacon, spinach and gruyere cheese. Mmmm - it just got out of the oven and it smells super duper good.


Just Annie July 14, 2020

I don't know if I could do gluten free, but I certainly need to knock off the bread, cakes, and cookies!

AppleGirl Just Annie ⋅ July 14, 2020

It’s not too hard...we eat lots of veggies, fruits, peanut butter, meat, potatoes, rice. I do have a stash of gluten free bread in the freezer for those mornings I just need a piece of toast with my eggs. We eat eggs almost every morning in some form, anyway, with so many chickens laying.

LittleBitofSunshine July 14, 2020

We always feel better when we eat gf.

LittleBitofSunshine July 14, 2020

Of course, it’s taken years to get into that mentality. When you slip and get off it, you know it. LoL

Jinn July 21, 2020

One of my brothers has been GF for years and says he could never eat any other way now.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.