Work fails... in Everyday Rants...

  • July 13, 2020, 9:29 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This is just my gripes about work.

I think they’re trying to get me quit. Or completely lose my shit. Over the last few months, I’m being overstepped in various ways. I made a comment about being passed over on stuff by people who have been there less time than I have, and R says with gusto “Seniority ended when [G] left.” That automatically irked me. If seniority is irrelevant, then what’s the point in being a loyal employee any more?

I’ve been asking for more varied assignments, more commercial stuff, and I’m not getting it. I bought that extension ladder so that I would be more easily able to take jobs for bigger doors, and I’ve not needed it that much. Seems like I’ve needed it less since I got it, than I needed the shop’s ladder. So I show initiative, and get shat on. Okay…

A few months ago, when we really needed more techs to install the stuff that me, the owner, his son, and the commercial sales guy were selling, the owner hires another sales guy. Consequently, my sales calls dried up. It was one of the things I liked doing. “If it doesn’t work out, we won’t keep him.” Yeah, guess that was bullshit.

Remember my bitch about my van? I had it 3 days and it had to go into the mechanic? Yeah. It’s more than 10 years old, and is (like my previous work trucks) a victim of severely deferred maintenance. But two guys who were hired after me have new or nearly new 3/4-ton crew cab trucks with very nice service bodies and heavy duty racks. For one of the guys, this is his second upgrade, his previous truck is the same but a single cab, about 3-4 years old, and another guy who was hired after me was moved into that truck. The reason I got when I brought that up was “well, we’ve never run vans before, so we wanted to see how it would work out.” Their trucks came from the dealership lot, while mine came from auction. Mine is currently in need of at least one wheel bearing, brakes, and the steering rack. But I don’t want to put it in the shop right now.

That moves up to what I discovered a couple weeks ago. They’ve bought a couple of GPS tracking devices to install on my van, and one other truck. Nothing has been said to anyone about this. It’s not been brought up in a meeting, we’ve received no notice of it. So after 6 years of me doing my job well, gaining customers, getting praise from my customers, barely calling out sick, and even more rarely taking vacation, and 5 years of keeping a work vehicle at home and holding to my agreement with the owner that the vehicle doesn’t leave my property, save moving between the driveway and carport, they don’t trust me? What the actual fuck.

6 years. 6 fucking years, and this is the respect I have earned from them and the thanks I get. Fuck you. Fuck you and the horse you rode in on. This is bullshit. Nobody has the balls to actually tell me the fucking truth. Fine. Be that fucking way. Just remember, I won’t get revenge, but karma is a massive bitch. I’ve seen karma in action. You reap what you sow.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.