If ever there was a time to reconsider our way of life, this is it in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • July 11, 2020, 11:48 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

In the afternoons lately I’ve been doing a lot of thinking, sitting on the big sofa in the den in a quiet empty house day after day. My thoughts constantly keep coming back to the Covid crisis, how I’m coping with it, what precautions I continue to need to take. And I’m very worried about the people who are now filling the hospitals in our state, the latest victims of this disease. I worry and am angered by all the younger people going to bars and other public places, not wearing masks and unable to keep any distance from others. Then you hear about the people causing fights and confrontations about wearing masks in stores. Think, think, think. Gotta get my mind off those things.

I do get out at least once, usually late in the afternoon or early evening just before sunset, and take a walk. I always take photos of sunsets, clouds, flowers and trees on these walks and share them on some of my photo communities.

This is my life now. Mom is gone. She died this past January, right before the pandemic truck. The house used to be busy with me and the caregivers taking care of Mom, visitors from the church, Hospice nurses. Now that’s all gone.

Now I hardly have contact with anyone, except for the Internet. I miss gong to my writing group meetings twice a month. And I miss all the little shopping excursions just to get out of the house and be around others. I recall distinctly the last time I went shopping. It was right before the lockdown began. I had premonitions things were going to change dramatically. I had been keeping up with the news very closely and was increasingly concerned about what lay ahead. On that particular day, March 12, I went to get my brakes worked on, then to the craft store. My fears were borne out next when I entered the grocery store and saw long lines in the checkout lanes, empty shelves and frozen food cases. I was shocked. I went from there to Barnes & Noble and then I headed home. I haven’t been in a store since then, not even a grocery store.

I’ve been thinking about why we do all this running around buying things. When I was dealing with the stress of caregiving last year, going to the store and shopping became a form of escape, of constant novelty. Buy this or that, not that you need it, but I can now see why people do all this running around. They’re either bored or stressed. Most people can get everything they want at Costco, Wal-Mart or the grocery store. But there are countless other stores and restaurants, gift shops, fast food joints, and on and on. So now that I don’t shop anymore except online, I feel sort of guilty. With me and so many others not shopping, small businesses are hurting. How will they be able to stay in business? Our whole way of life, our economic engine, our jobs and employment statistics are based on consumer spending. That’s really sad when you think about it. How many necessary items do you find in shopping malls? But they’re mostly dying now. I remember when I stepped into the first mall I visited. It was 1964, and it seemed like the most glittering monument to consumer culture that I could ever imagine. Of course, I didn’t think in those terms back in 8th grade. The point is, to he pandemic is forcing us to evaluate what we consider necessary and worthy, and to greatly respect the essential workers whose jobs pre-pandemic were taken for granted. Not anymore.

With the reality of the loss of lives, health, livelihoods and basically our whole way of life from a deadly epidemic, we can’t ignore any longer the systemic problems that allowed this terrible disease to rapidly spread.

It’s time to reconsider the value and purpose of a consumer culture, the nature and means of education, and shift to jobs that will help people and the planet and foster a new ethos of selflessness and community. As a society, we need to cease segregating the elderly in assisted living facilities and nursing homes where a large percentage of the deaths from Covid have occurred.

For those of us older folks who can live independently for now, the extreme dangers to our population from the epidemic leave us huddled in our homes tethered to Amazon and the Internet, fearful of going to the doctor unless it’s an emergency, hoping we stay well and free of toothaches, praying for a vaccine that may not even help those who are older that much. A very scary thought.

But I keep getting drawn back to the endless Covid-19 news. The world revolves around getting this under control. A worse fate for the planet, catastrophic climate, has not gone away. But with Covid dominating everything, where is it in the news? Oh, now Antarctica is starting to melt quickly. Better go raise up the house.


Last updated July 11, 2020


Deleted user July 11, 2020 (edited July 11, 2020)

Edited

I am not sure what you mean by 'I will continue to pray.' I think leaders must act, people should start to be responsable. But they won't do that. I totally agree with what you write here. I feel the same. I think our planet and human life is now at a turning point. Shall we make it or not? I still think there are too few who understand what is really going on. It may be much too late before they are finally involved. Very sad that it has to get this far despite all warnings from the last 20 years. Very sad! I hope you will be able to stay safe. I follow the news and it looks worse in your country lately.

Oswego Deleted user ⋅ July 11, 2020

It is very bad in my state. I read where South Carolina has the 4th highest rate of positive Covid infections per capita in the world. It’s appalling. Ian more worried than ever about going to stores so I stay away. I am becoming a bit of a hermit.

You are so right. People do not fully comprehend that our planet is at a turning point.

ConnieK July 12, 2020

Here in Florida, it is older Republicans who claim hoax and argue with store clerks about wearing masks. It's crazy. I'm okay with self-isolation, as most writers are, I think, but if I need to get out of the house, my backyard is lovely and the better choice than stores.

Oswego ConnieK ⋅ July 12, 2020

Sounds like you have the right approach. Those selfish young people and old Republicans are desperate to blame anyone but themselves for the horrendous spike in cases in Florida. I just read there were 15,000 new cases yesterday.

ConnieK Oswego ⋅ July 12, 2020

Yes, a new record for our tone-deaf governor. I'm done trying to reason with people. I just stay away from everyone.

Oswego ConnieK ⋅ July 12, 2020

I’m getting that way, too. The last four years, and now this pandemic, have made me wake up to the fact that things REALLY are bad in this country. Our species is not advancing in its civilization, but going Rapidly backward. Now we’re at the edge of a precipice.

ConnieK Oswego ⋅ July 12, 2020

I think Biden, while not great, will do a lot to calm waters. The open bigotry will go back to hiding in the woodwork (never completely erased) and people will eventually see that voting in a carnival barker is never a good idea. I just worry about how much secret info has been passed to N Korea & Russia.

Oswego ConnieK ⋅ July 12, 2020

Yes, Biden is very flawed but compared to Trump he’s an absolute paragon of virtue. I just hope the self-righteous elements of the left will wake up and knock off their nonsense and realize that Biden is our only hope.

ConnieK Oswego ⋅ July 12, 2020

Was just unfriended by an angry great niece on Facebook because I told her Biden was not a pedophile. Oooakie Doakie! I hope they climb off their high horses but Bernie Bros most certainly did not the last time around and I can't get a handle on this batch. Hoping. I think Trump just hung himself with Stone's pardon.

Newzlady July 14, 2020

It's hard to even imagine what's next. Humans in general are highly disappointing right now. I'm going to dive into a book this evening.

Marg July 16, 2020

Haha love the last line! I think it's a positive to come from the pandemic, this assessing of our lives and realising how much pointless rushing around we might have been doing before and how much we are able to exist on less. I really hope in amongst all that there's a smidgeon of how selfish we were becoming as well and a realisation of just WHAT is important and that everything we do impacts others whether we know it or not. That was a long time coming in my opinion.

Oswego Marg ⋅ July 16, 2020

We really do have a lot to learn from this. This pandemic has altered our lives so fundamentally, the question is whether we move forward as more enlightened and caring beings, having survived this worldwide scourge, or once the danger is past, do we go back to essentially the way we were, with a few modifications?I hope this latter scenario is not to be, but knowing human nature, paradigm shifts are usually not so rapid. I guess we’ll have to wait and see.

Marg Oswego ⋅ July 16, 2020

I have a feeling it will be a mixture of both. I think there are some folk who are already re-assessing their lives and want to make changes and others who can't wait to get back to 'the old life' asap. And I suppose that encapsulates human nature in all its glory so we shouldn't be surprised!

Oswego Marg ⋅ July 16, 2020

Well put! It’s so true. Some people won’t change no matter what happens to them. There’s that inertia problem, and the deep-seated yearning for the status quo as insurance of stability. But I am optimistic this time that we are going to see fundamental changes, maybe not right away, but over time. We will also have no choice with global warming. This pandemic, and what we learn from it, will be the catalyst.

Marg Oswego ⋅ July 16, 2020

Totally agree with that :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.