The 4th of July weekend. in My life both public and private!

  • July 5, 2020, 11:50 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Just didn’t seem like the 4th. No race or trip to New Hope. No blueberry pancakes or watermelon after the race. No feeling of exhilaration finishing 10K in blistering heat with 400 other runners. No pissing off Steve by hugging him after the race and getting his golf shirt all wet with sweat. No stripping down in the back seat of the car and getting naked so I can put on dry clothes so we can get breakfast. No having Steve sit in the front seat of my car and pretend he isn’t watching me while I change to dry clothesline. Funny the things we think of at times like.this.

The 4th was fun actually. We were invited to 2 picnics. One by my parents and one by a friend of Steves. I didn’t want to go to both. I didn’t tell Steve about the invite from my parents but my dad had told him about it when they were golfing. Not that I didn’t want to see my mom and my dad and my Aunt Kathy it just my dad is a heavy drinker. So is Steve. I was afraid we would go there and Steve would have a few beers and be drunk when we went to his friends house. I habe maybe 1 or 2 drinks at a sitting. Steve usually has a problem stopping once he starts. But it turned out fine. I got to see my mom and Aunt. They got to see Bella and Steve. It was a very hot day but still a nice day.

We then went to Steves friends house. They called it a Covid 19 picnic. And it was. We were asked to bring anything we wanted to drink in a cooler. And any silverware we would need.. They would provide wine and food only. So Steve brought one of his favorite craft beers and a couple of bottles of water for me in one of.my Jeta coolers. When we got there the yard was set up with a grill, picnic table and a couple of serving tables. Looked more.like a school event than a picnic. We then were asked to get our menu with our name on it. We were #17. We had to mark exactly what we wanted on the menu and hanf it in. They set up a table with 4 glasses os wine on it. As you took one another one was put in its place. That way no one touched your glass or.the wine bottle.

We talked to a bunch of people I didn’t know which made me uncomfortable. But Steve was very supportive. I am very shy or introverted when I meet new people. One of the thousand of reasons I don’t drink is if I did I would be afraid to make an ass out of myself and be too embarrassed to look anyone in the eye. Steve does not have that problem. He is naturally charismatic and loves to talk and meet new people. Of course I also think it helps he knew some.of the people and had quite a few beers.

After all the chit chat we were told the meal was ready. On one of the tables they placed a tray with a # on it. We were #17. They did one tray at a time. When your numbered tray came up it had everything you ordered. Also packets of mustard, ketchup and relish. Very ingenious in my mind. After you ate all.the plates and cups went into the garbage. I know it sounds strange but it actually worked. The kids had a small area roped off for themselves with a small wading pool and some water guns and toys.

I had a very good time. Only.issue was Steve may have had a beer or 2 too many. When we got back to the condo he took a quick nap and I took Bella for a walk. Finally about 9 or so he got up and joined me on our deck to watch the fireworks..He got another beer and he got me a small bottle.of champagne. It tasted really good.

We talked about our adventure the other day. He was very open and said he had planned it out. And I had to believe him. He knew I was going to get a pedicure with my mom and had suggested to my mom that I ahould try a new color of polish. It’s a very bright blue. I would have never tried it. My skin tone is beyond white. When I played tennis they called me Casper. Most red heads are pretty pale. I am guilty as charged!

We then got to discussing what we did. He said he has a few fantasies he wants to try. I said so did I. We agreed to each put a list of 5 together and when we are on vacation to give the list to each other. We agreed we would do 3 of the 5. More if we wanted but a minimum of 3. I am kinda looking forward to it and also scared to death. I think I know a few he will.list. and I think I am open to them.

Harder part is what would I list. I have a few i am thinking of but can’t come up with 5. Any of.my friends out there have anything you think I should put on the list? Please help.as I am lost on this one.

Happy 4th all. Next year has to be better!


hot-lips July 08, 2020

Sounds like a fun picnic, and more importantly, safe! The trick to talking to and meeting new people, is to ask lots of questions. That way if the convo starts to die out, you can ask a question and get them talking again. Enjoy the fantasies. ;)

Bre M hot-lips ⋅ July 08, 2020

It was a fun picnic. That's a great suggestion about asking questions. Sometimes I just have to come.out of my shell.

colojojo July 13, 2020

The level of social distancing and safety they had at that picnic is pretty darn impressive!

Bre M colojojo ⋅ July 13, 2020

It was awkward for the first 30 minutes or so. I did not know a single person. They are all the guys that Steve plays hockey with. They play at 4AM on Sunday..Some of the wives and gfs go see them play. I never did. But Steve was really good about getting me involved in the conversations. So that helped a lot

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.