Bookmarks update and 5,000 users! in Site Updates

  • April 3, 2014, 12:48 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

First of all, we finally hit that 5,000 user milestone. That's pretty cool! (note that I'm going by the actual number of users with active accounts as listed in the Browse Users section - as far as keys in the url go, we hit 5,000 a while ago).

OK, so I have received a ton of cool suggestions for the Bookmarks listing, and what I've done really only scratches the surface. But it's an improvement, I think. In addition to cleaning the page up to look more consistent with other parts of the site, I've combined the Bookmarks listing into a single section with three different buttons for filtering. It should be fairly self-explanatory, but by default now it only shows you unread bookmarks. The "Latest" option gives you only the latest entry that each person you have bookmarked has written, and "All" is... everything.

Also, I've limited what shows in the "Unread" view to entries written within the past week. It seems unlikely that people will want to page back through more than a week of entries. If you've been away for more than a week, you'll most likely go to the "Latest" view to see what's the latest for people you follow (although everyone has their own system which makes the perfect bookmark system pretty much impossible).

Cool beans in my coffee.


Deleted user April 03, 2014

"All" for one, and one for "All!"

banker chick April 03, 2014

Great update!! Congrats on 5000!!

Cat Mommy April 03, 2014

Love it and congrats!

Lobbastah April 03, 2014

Right on, man.

Life Is For Living April 03, 2014

5,000 is phenomenal! Woohoo!

perfunctory April 03, 2014

It's a lot of scrolling on the mobile site but otherwise I'm liking the changes!

Sharee April 03, 2014

Rockin'.

sassafras April 03, 2014

YES. THANK YOU!

Leanne 🌈 April 03, 2014

Cool ;)

cricket_factor April 03, 2014

Thank you!

TellTaleHeart April 03, 2014

I totally thought the Bookmarks page was broken, because on my phone, it looked like I'd gone to the homepage. But I'm all caught up now. :)

Is there a way to set the default as Latest or All instead of Unread? Or is thata ffuture setting? :)

Newzlady TellTaleHeart ⋅ April 06, 2014

I would also love to be able to set Latest as the default, or at least have it stay there after I change it once during my log-in. I do appreciate you trying to continually make the site better.

Starhawk April 03, 2014

a week seems a little rough, but then again i'm usually here more often than that.

crafty_tori April 03, 2014

I think I dig the bookmarks filtering. Very nice!

Jigger April 03, 2014

I would still like the gray shading for the already-read ones under the All, if you're interested in doing my specific bidding. And I would still love to see unread entries more than a week old! Sometimes I can't get to this place to read for a while, and then sometimes I have dead days at work when I can read ALL THE THINGS if I'm sneaky. PB is pretty much my only social outlet--or at least, the only one where I really, really do want to know what people have been up to, even months ago. I know it can't be perfect, and you can't please all the people all the time...but if you can only pick one, could it be me? I'll send you chocolate chip cookies. I'm not kidding. They're really good.

H. Majesty T. Mudfish Queen April 03, 2014

Oh! And congratulations! On the 5,000 users! That's pretty awesomesauce right????

Awesome sauce is old. But I just learned it not too long ago and intend to use it as much as possible.

offmychest April 03, 2014

5,000! wow!

Etoile Filante April 03, 2014

OoooOooooOoooh! I saw my bookmarks before I saw this and was like "where'd they all go? Was I reading in my sleep again ...!?" I love it. xXx

Nin April 03, 2014

nods Yup, yup, I see what you did there and I approve. nods Anytime I can click something and control it I am pretty fricking happy.

Jane Says April 03, 2014

I like the changes, for sure. But...I still would like to be able to see a list of all of the people I'm following, with their most recent entry title and date (yes, like OD). I follow a lot of people and can't use the "Friends" listing if they've marked themselves not to show up. If I don't read for a week and one of my friends posts very infrequently, I won't see it or know they've updated since the last time I read them.

Thanks for all of your hard work.

magicstar Jane Says ⋅ April 04, 2014

This is actually what the 'latest' tab does. I was just trying to figure out why I was only seeing one entry per person because I misread latest to mean most recent, but I reread this entry and realized that latest does what the bookmarks page on OD did, just a little harder to read because things aren't separated.

Jane Says magicstar ⋅ April 04, 2014

It's only eight pages long, though - I've racked up over 2,000 bookmarks in a matter of a month. The point is I'm missing entries from people who don't post often if I don't read every day, and there's no way I can really do that. The OD list by user showed my entire list of everyone I had bookmarked, even if they hadn't updated in a year.

Then again I like data - if I've got X number of people bookmarked I would like to see all of them. As it is, if they're marked as not to appear on Friends lists and have an entry over a week old, I won't see them at all.

Cat Mommy April 03, 2014

I was wanting to write an entry with small images right next to each other but even though they aren't as wide as the margin it still put each photo on a separate line meaning where I could fit twelve images on three lines I now use twelve lines. Any way to allow for images to appear side by side as long as the margin is big enough?

crystal butterfly April 03, 2014

I like what you did with the bookmarks, but not sure if a week is enough. If someone goes on vacation they will miss entries. Maybe 2 weeks? But am happy with the unread button anyway.

.Java.Junkie. April 03, 2014

Yay!!! You my friend ROCK!

Deleted user April 04, 2014

congrats on the milestone! and thanks for all the work you're doing :)

Deleted user April 04, 2014

5000! Wow, that is awesome!

Deleted user April 04, 2014

Love the update! Thank you!

Loki April 04, 2014

  • AWESOME =]
NeonLady April 04, 2014

Love it! Thank you! So appreciate all your work on this site. :)

Jigger April 05, 2014

I think not all bookmarks are showing on my list--I read an entry, and she said something about "see my previous entry," and it wasn't on my list. I got to it with the "previous" button, but if she hadn't mentioned it, I'd have missed it. :(

Raven April 05, 2014

Nice work, SM! I really should be here more often.

Deleted user April 05, 2014

I love this update! I noticed that many active users tend to be prolific, at least among the folks I have bookmarked, so the "unread" section really helps me not miss anything. Thank you!

CountingStars April 05, 2014

Definitely like the filtering options. It would be awesome if there was a way to set a default list though. I tend to always use the "all" tab just to make sure I don't miss anything (in case I click on an entry but then get distracted by my kids or something) and it would be nice to be able to set it to go to that page by default when you click the bookmarks link. Overall, love the change though!

Deleted user April 06, 2014

I clicked the thing to hide the news (these entries of yours) to see what would happen & now I don't know how to get it back. if someone can explain it to me, or if this can be changed (for people like me who push buttons to see what happens & then can't figure out how to undo it) so that the news feed will show again

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ April 06, 2014

That just hides the current news but will pop up again the next time I add a news entry.

Deleted user April 06, 2014

Thanks!

Reading_Blankie 📚 April 06, 2014

whoo hoo! Chocolate Fondue and Strawberries for everyone!

Seriously though... AWESOME.

Pretty Fly Jedi April 06, 2014

Yay!

sparkyray April 08, 2014

Can I just say how happy that I am that you list multiple entries as unread? So if a fav writes twice, both entries show up? It's one of my favorite features on the site. Thanks. :) And congrats on 5k!

RoseS April 09, 2014

This is about the only thing on Prosebox that bugs me. I often lose a week or two of reading due to big projects, travel etc. I miss having just a clean list of all my bookmarks, showing me which i've not read and when i've visited last, like that "other" place used to have. I find that my unread pages have all the same people, who are prolific writers on them, and i've lost track of people I want to read, but who write less frequently. I hate scrolling through pages! (sorry, i've never whined before :) ) (here)

ConnieK April 10, 2014

Hi there! Are you patched against the heartbleed virus? I already changed my password, but was wondering.

simple mind ConnieK ⋅ April 11, 2014

Yes I have it patched.

Linda April 14, 2014

Excellent.

benthegirl April 20, 2014

It would be really cool if you could set one of the filters as your default. For example, I prefer the "Latest" and would love to be able to have that be my default. Thanks for adding the filtering! Love the site.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.