An actual outing! in Another Open Diary refugee

  • April 2, 2014, 2:39 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I really wasn't feeling very well today, but I didn't really want to sit home alone and John only had one short call to run this afternoon, so he asked if I'd go with him. The call was in Jupiter, only a short drive from here, and I got to see a bit of Florida which is extremely lovely, and where I've never been before... I sat in the car and relaxed while he did his job (it only took ten minutes), then we went over to the Jupiter Lighthouse to get some photos. You have to pay to go on the lighthouse tour to get close to it, and we couldn't do that on a work day, so we'll go back real soon if I manage to kick the asthma properly... I'd love to climb the lighthouse, even if it'll be very challenging for me, because I'm sure the view from the top is glorious. In the meantime, I took a few pics of the tame pelicans on their little beach, and the lighthouse in the distance. Then we drove up the Beach Road on the outside edge of the intra-coastal waterway and saw lots of rich people's houses, many super tall privacy hedges, and occasional glimpses of incredibly beautiful scenery where the water is. We had to go all the way up to Hobe Sound to get to the next bridge, and when we got there we made a short stop at the public beach so I could take some beach pictures, then we came home... I just loaded the photos into my blog, so please follow the link to see them.

It was really nice to get out of the house on such a beautiful day, and I came home feeling much much better than I did when I left... (one of the differences between Fort Lauderdale and here is that we could actually find a place to park at the Hobe Sound Beach and it was FREE! All we ever got to do in Ft Lauderdale was drive along the water because beach parking is impossible to find and incredibly expensive...) I didn't get any pics on the way down, but the road down to Jupiter follows the coastal hummocks, so it's hilly! I haven't seen a hill in years!

And PS. Monday's doctor's visit was very anticlimactic... I haven't gotten around to writing about it but weight wasn't an issue, nor was fibro. He said he can write my prescriptions except he doesn't do anything stronger than tramadol (he asked if it worked for me and I said it works great), and we said that's fine. Then I spent the rest of the day sitting in the car while John worked because he was running so late he didn't have time to take me home... we left at ten in the morning, left the doctor's office at 12 (the appointment was booked for 10.45) and got home again at 6pm. Boy that was tiring! We rewarded ourselves with pizza for dinner and had an early night. And he wants me to get blood work done again to check everything, so I'll do that once I get off the prednisone next week.


RosesAreRed April 02, 2014

Nice photos..

Everything Good Rebecca April 06, 2014

Nice to do a ride-along like that!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.