Self-Sabotage No More in The Adventures of Sugarbear and Cupcake

  • June 30, 2020, 9:49 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So I’ve been doing a lot of thinking lately, especially since I had to lead our training this past Sunday evening. I decided to do it on self sabotaging. I’m an expert at it after all. I was doing some research on it and realized I do 9 out of 10 of the self sabotaging behaviors. Wow. But hey, now that I know I can change, right? Negative self talk/being overly critical of myself (of course), procrastinating, not feeling like I deserve good things in life no matter how hard I work, comparing myself to others, having a disorganized life, being afraid of success because I’m afraid I’ll lose the good things I gain, focusing on my problems rather than the solutions to them, being overindulgent, getting defensive when Randy calls me out on something. Literally 9 out of 10 things. The last one was questioning whether you have a purpose in life. I know I have a purpose in life, I just wonder if I’m strong enough to accomplish it.

So I have to work daily to stop these behaviors. I know it’ll be a struggle, but I’m determined. I’ll have to keep reminding myself that perfection is the enemy. Usually if I don’t do something perfectly I say “forget it, I suck” but I gotta stop that. It’s so counterproductive.

On good news, I lost a pound. I started at 261.0 and I’m at 260.0. Huzzah. I’m thinking about mainly doing the Mediterranean diet. It seems healthy and it focuses on food I really like. Maybe on the weekends do something different. I still want to cook from my cookbooks and make recipes from different countries. I’m making a Rachael Ray meal tomorrow. Just gotta get some bread.

Oh, Randy’s mom moved into her own apartment! It’s a really nice new construction for people age 55 and over. She’s in the smallest floorplan, but it works. She got herself a scooter so she can get around the facility. They have lots of activities for the residents and I think (I hope) she’ll make some new friends. Kendra and Tyler gave her a loveseat they weren’t using and she ordered a chair that helps her when she stands up. That should be there next week. And she’s having an aid come in to help her shower and stuff. We gave her our fire tv (sad face) but we’ll get a new one on Amazon Prime day. We still have a TV downstairs.

Speaking of our house, I’ve been doing a deep clean. The kitchen and dining room are both finished and since our living room doesn’t have any furniture in it practically, it’ll be easy to clean. I’ll do that tomorrow.

Anyway, gotta make Randy some turkey salad before he gets home. Until next time!


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.