Caregiving’s ultimate reward in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • June 30, 2020, 4:55 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Last year, the actor Rob Lowe wrote an impassioned opinion piece in USA Today about the urgent need to assist the millions of Americans who are caregivers for loved ones, a third of whom do it alone. Having been a caregiver for his mother at home when she had Stage 4 breast cancer, Lowe knows firsthand what a mental, emotional, and physical toll caregiving takes. I can tell you from my own experience as the primary caregiver for my mother who suffered for over ten years with dementia that it is a full time and all-consuming job.

Based on my experiences also I cannot even imagine how a person can do it alone. Mom had longterm care insurance, and because of that I was able to hire five part-time caregiver/home aides. They all worked for us a minimum of three years and some were with Mom five and six years. This was absolutely the only way I was able to keep working full time and preserve my sanity during the worst outbursts by Mom of dementia-driven fear, anger and paranoia. Without help I would have had to quit my job and stay home all the time, hardly ever getting out except for groceries, prescriptions, and other necessities. Since I had help most of the time except overnight, I was able to visit my favorite gardens and parks, take long, meditative walks and have some semblance of a normal life, as I struggled daily to retain my balance, patience and composure. And love for my mother, and her love for me, bound us together, even when she started to forget who I was. It was there to enable her to stay in her own home, which she dearly loved. I was able to move in and take care of her as she gradually lost the ability to do anything for herself.

Lowe wrote this in his article, “When you’re caring for a loved one, there’s nothing you won’t do (or sacrifice) to give them as much comfort and peace of mind as you can possibly provide. Often, that means you’ll skip your social obligations, wreck your diet, suffer sleep deprivation, and even risk your career, all to help a loved one through the most difficult time of their life…”

It’s so true. I did everything I possibly could to make her happy and comfortable. I researched. I learned by trial and error, and I benefited from the many years of experience of our home sides and caregivers,. Finally, I was helped enormously by the Hospice nurses who assisted us in the final months and days.

Lowe also had this important point to make. “I can assure you: The person you’re caring for needs you to be at your best. If you don’t take care of yourself, you won’t have the energy or the means to provide the reliable care that your loved ones need…”. .

This was absolutely crucial to my role as a caregiver. I made sure I got out for walks, I pursued my passion for photography, I wrote when I could, and I ate properly. Sleep has never been an issue. I’ve never needed more than five or six hours a night, and it could be broken up. I could be up all night with Mom if I had to and was never tired the next morning. I functioned fine at work. This was a real blessing. I tried to take care of myself as best I could. Prior to caregiving I also had lived on my own and was very independent, as far as providing for myself. This gave me a lifetime’s worth of skills for coping with stress, loneliness and anxiety. And full-time caregiving is one of the most stressful tasks you will ever be confronted with.

Like Lowe, I can say that when my caregiving experience ended, I felt confident that Mom had always known someone was there for her and loved her. And she was never alone in those gradually declining last 10 years of her life. To have achieved that for Mom, I am very grateful for my own strength and stamina, as well as for the emotional and psychological help from my brother and sister.

How can anyone go it alone? My heart goes out to those who try, but they shouldn’t have to. That has to change.


Newzlady June 30, 2020

I happy to see a prominent spokesperson speaking out. Does he have any ideas to implement?

ODSago June 30, 2020

I don't believe everyone is suited to be a solo caretaker, even if they are willing and able. You and your mother were obviously well suited and your life experiences gave you tools you possibly, probably didn't know were being helpful...rain...have to go, will return.

ODSago June 30, 2020

Ah...sorry. (I have a cloth awning over the sunroom's patio and try to catch it and manually roll it up when it looks rainy. Just made it before the first thunder.) Well, I am well suited to be a caregiver but Kermit was not, and I knew that. Even as a guardian, I needed to be ready, rested and in a good mood to be with my dad. It's a hard goodby but afterwards, if you do it as well as you can...it's a treasured memory forever. I know you'll agree.

Oswego ODSago ⋅ June 30, 2020

Yes, I think about her all the time and the passing years will only make the memories more poignant. Thankfully, I do feel I did it about as well as I could, and I feel sure zoom knew that. I wrote more related to this in m note at your most re by diary entry.

We’re having a thunderstorm, too, which will nicely cool things off. We had a heat index of 106 here today!! 🥵

Jinn July 01, 2020

You were outstanding . ❤️

Marg July 01, 2020

There must be a tremendous amount of satisfaction in knowing you gave her the best possible care available and that the main part was done by yourself - having someone familiar there must have given her such comfort even if she didn’t always know who you were. But not everyone can do it much as they might want to.

A Pedestrian Wandering July 01, 2020

Caregivers, solo and with help, are such a blessing to the person who is ill. The closeness of that relationship, I believe, is essential in their well being, especially at the end. I honestly can't imagine doing it alone for very long.

Oswego A Pedestrian Wandering ⋅ July 01, 2020

I feel the same way. It would have been impossible for me to do it alone. There are people who can do it, but you have to wonder about their health and well-being.

Deleted user July 05, 2020

You did it very well. I admire you!! My dad did the same and I was there in de weekends. I have experienced how hard is was and sometimes, when mom got angry and upset dad was very patient with her. True love!
You did what you could and your mother was in the best possible hands. A very comforting thought when you think about her. You will miss her! Hug and greetings from us.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.