I miss you. in After OD

  • June 28, 2020, 7:39 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I miss Open Diary so much.
I know it’s still around and I could pay to rejoin, but it wouldn’t be the same. I miss the sense of community. I miss the feeling of a safe place to share my thoughts and have friends (though most I never met in person) comment with encouraging words. Remnants of those days remain here but entries from all of us are few and far between, and notes are even more scarce.
I’ve found that for me Facebook became my replacement for OD. And not a good one at that. I kept wanting to get deep and personal in my posts and really that’s just not the place for it. I deactivated my account yesterday because it’s become a very ugly place.
I’m feeling tired, overwhelmed, sad, lonely, frightened. I’ve had people tell me I’m negative and I focus too much on the bad things. I’m just a realist. I don’t avoid the bad stuff, I attempt to prepare for it, and face it head on when the time comes. It can be hard to be like that though because when the world goes to shit like it has been this year, the weight of it all begins to crush your soul.
I need to escape from everything to keep myself balanced. Lately that escape has been online gambling. I have a problem of which I am fully aware. So, I’m going to attempt to stop by here more often and read and write in an attempt to create a healthy outlet. Maybe we can even build up that community again?


Telstar June 28, 2020

Open Diary was a more innocent time.

Now we know that most of the internet is foolishness and those who write on it may or may not be who or what they claim to be.

Timmy™ January 10, 2021

After becoming a refugee.... I don't see myself going back to OD. Too many of my OD friends are here, and to expect them to go back? In fact, I don't know ANY of my OD friends that have gone back, to my knowledge.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.