NO Barriers Summit in A New Journey

  • June 27, 2020, 9:15 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I spent 2 days being online watching many motivational speaker like Marlee Matlin, Marlee is an American actress, author, and activist who is deaf, Josh Blue, is an American comedian. He was voted the Last Comic Standing on NBC’s reality show Last Comic Standing during its fourth season, which aired May–August 2006. Blue has cerebral palsy, and much of his self-deprecating humor is centered on this, Karamo Brown is an American television host, reality television personality, author, and activist. Brown began his career in 2004 on the MTV reality show The Real World: Philadelphia becoming the first openly gay black man on a reality show. He currently stars as the culture expert in the Netflix series Queer Eye, Mandy Harvey is an American jazz and pop singer and songwriter. Profoundly deaf following an illness at the age of 18, she is most notable as a former contestant in the 12th season of America’s Got Talent, where she performed original songs during the competition, Bethany Hamilton is an American professional surfer who survived a 2003 shark attack in which her left arm was bitten off and who ultimately returned to professional surfing. There is a movie about her called Soul Surfer. Kodi Taehyun Lee is an American singer-songwriter and pianist. He rose to fame after participating in and winning the 14th season of the reality competition show America’s Got Talent.
We had more other amazing other “Disable” speakers who shared their stories of overcoming their Barriers in their life. IT was an amazing Virtual Summit and I got to speak to all those that I shared here. I have made new friends on the No Barriers Summit and I will continue to find my Identity of my deafness and find what I want to do to be a better person out in this world!
I want to share a book for all of you to read,

Its called “What’s Within you”

Your Roadmap to Living Life with No Barriers, is now available on Amazon! Based on our work with tens of thousands of individuals over the past 15 years, the book uses the proven No Barriers framework to teach you step-by-step how to break through your own challenges and live a driven, purposeful life.

“This is an incredibly inspiring book; stories of people who refused to give up their dreams despite the daunting obstacles in their way. Each one illustrates “the indomitable human spirit” which I always cite as one of my most profound reasons for hope for humanity’s future. And when you have read it, and been moved and uplifted, you will realize that you too have some of that indomitable spirit and that you too can overcome the barriers that loom ahead in your life.”
Jane Goodall, PhD, DBE,Founder of the Jane Goodall Institute & UN Messenger of Peace

I have started the book on my kindle and I am going to find my DREAM to do what I want to do, my mother kept me from many things I wanted to do in my life (being deaf) she kept me being able to be bilingual to ASL and speak. She had me to speak and listen. I have missed out a lot in life of understanding a lot of things in life. I feel if I was able to do Sign Language (ASL) and speak and use my cochlear implants I was kept from the deaf community and I am going to get into the deaf community to learn more about my identity, and be comfortable in my own SKIN of who I am. MY mother meant well and wanted me to live the life of being NORMAL. I told her there is no SUCH THING AS NORMAL. NO ONE is normal.
BUT don’t get me wrong I do admire my mother for working hard for me to learn how to speak well and use my hearing aids as I grew up and I have cochlear implants and I am fighting daily to fit in this world. Especially now we all must wear mask and I can’t understand anything now. AS I depend on lip reading. SO This
NO BARRIERS
is my community to find who I am!!

*What’s within you is stronger than what’s in your way *


GypsyWynd June 27, 2020

It sounds like it was an amazing summit.

thesunnyabyss June 27, 2020

awesomeness!!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.